Odisha effects major bureaucratic reshuffle; 28 IAS officers shifted

Bhubaneswar: The State government today effected a major bureaucratic reshuffle in which as many as 28 IAS officers were shifted or given additional charges.

According to sources, principal secretary of Agriculture department Rajesh Verma has been appointed as principal secretary of Energy department, while Manoj Ahuja will now assume charge as the principal secretary of Agriculture and Cooperative departments.

Energy department Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra has been appointed as the Secretary, Forest and Environment department.

Labour Commissioner Shalini Pandit has been appointed as the managing director of National Rural Health Mission (NRHM). Similarly, Sanjeev Chopra will take charge as the chairman of Odisha Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (Idco) and the chairman-cum-managing director of IPICOL.

Sanjay Kumar Singh will now assume the charge of managing director of Idco along with the chief executive officer of Odisha Computer Application Centre (OCAC). Besides, NB Jawale has been appointed as the managing director of Odisha Tourism Development Corporation (OTDC) and Director of Tourism department.

Higher Education Secretary Gagan Dhal replaced L N Gupta as the Secretary of Tourism and Culture department.

Anil Samal and Pramod Das have been appointed as Collectors of Angul and Balasore districts, respectively.

Sources said, IAS Bhaskar Jyoti Sharma will now be the new Revenue Divisional Commissioner of Southern Range while Rupa Mishra has been appointed as the Labour Commissioner and Director of Employees’ State Insurance (ESI).

The principal secretary of the General Administration department GVV Sharma has been given additional charge as the principal secretary of Higher Education department. Similarly, principal secretary of Revenue department Mona Sharma has been given additional charge of Excise department.

PK Mohapatra has been given additional charges as Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) & Managing Director of Orissa State Disaster Management Authority (OSDMA).