26 new services comes under the purview of ORPSA

Bhubaneswar: In its bid to provide good governance in the state, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today approved inclusion of 26 new services under the purview of the Odisha Right to Public Services Act (ORPSA), 2012.

Three departments which were now included in the ORPSA were housing and urban development, higher education and fisheries and animal resource development.

The Act so far included 63 different services across ten different departments and with this decision, the number of services offered under ORPSA in Odisha has reached 89.

Among the new additions, 15 services would offered by housing and urban development department, eight by the higher education department and three by the fisheries and animal resource development.

Right to Public Services legislation comprises statutory laws, which guarantee time bound delivery of services rendered by the government to the citizens. It also provides a mechanism for punishing errant public officials who fail to provide the services stipulated under the Act.