Tag: Subal Sahu

Rita Sahu takes oath as MLA from Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Rita Sahu on Tuesday took oath as MLA from Bijepur Assembly Constituency today after a thumping victory in the by-election. Rita, who won the Bijepur bypoll on February 28 by defeating her nearest BJP contender Ashok Panigrahi by 41,933 votes, was administered oath of office and secrecy by Odisha Assembly […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: Filling of nomination begins

Bhubanerswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) today issued a formal notification for the much-awaited bypoll in Bijepur constituency that was necessitated after the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu. As per the notification, voting for the by-election will be held from 8 am to 5 pm on February 24. The process of filling of […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP chalks out strategy for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced its ‘master plan’ for the Bijepur bypoll by appointing three senior leaders as in-charge of three blocks of the assembly constituency. BJP legislature party leader  KV Singh Deo will be in-charge of Gaisilat block while senior leader Jayanarayan Mishra has been given the responsibility of Bijepur block. […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJD candidate Rita Sahu to file nomination on Feb 5

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: At a time when the Congress and the BJP are yet to finalise candidates for the Bijepur bypoll, BJD’s candidate and late Bijepur MLA Subal Sahu’s wife, Rita Sahu today informed she will file the nomination for the by-election on February 5. Speaking to the media after a meeting at Naveen Nivas here on […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll on February 24

New Delhi/ Bhubaneswar: Clearing the air, the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced the dates for bye-election in Bijepur Assembly Constituency of Odisha that was necessitated by the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu. As per the notification issued by ECI, voting will be held on February 24 while the counting and results […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP holds 'Ganatantra Banchao' rally in Bijepur

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday carried out a ‘Ganatantra Banchao’ padayatra in Bijepur in the wake of the recent cases of violence in the by-poll ready constituency. The padayatra, after covering several villages in the region, will conclude at Barpali on Wednesday. Alleging that the BJD is behind the violence in Bijepur, Odisha […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJD, Opposition train guns at each other over dates

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced dates for by-poll to three Lok Sabha and two Assembly constituencies in Rajasthan and West Bengal but there was no mention of Bijepur bypoll giving rise to an intense war of words between the ruling BJD and the Opposition parties. While the BJD criticised the […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll top on agenda at party meet in Naveen Niwas

Bhubaneswar: With the Bijepur bypoll due early next year, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday held a crucial meeting at Naveen Niwas to discuss strategies on the bypoll to thwart the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress’ tall claims of winning the Constituency. As per reports, ministers, MLAs, an observer and senior leaders […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Exodus on: BJP's Bargarh district unit president resigns, to join BJD

Bhubaneswar: Even as the Election Commission is yet to announce dates for Bijepur bypoll, a virtual war has already broken out between the BJD and the BJP to win the seat with the latter’s Bargarh district unit president Narayan Sahu resigning from the party on Tuesday. After resigning from the party, Sahu arrived at Naveen […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
HIgh Court Chitfund
Bijepur bypoll: Hearing on 2014 election petition concludes

Cuttack: The hearing on a petition filed by senior BJD leader Prasanna Acharya in 2014 following his defeat to late Congress MLA Subal Sahu in the general polls, concluded in Orissa High Court today. While hearing on Acharya’s election petition on Thursday after the family of Subal Sahu submitted the death certificate of the deceased […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJD not following 'divide and rule' policy to strengthen party: CM Naveen

Bhubaneswar: While a virtual war has already broken out between BJD and BJP to bag the Bijepur constituency seat in the ensuing bypoll, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today refuted the allegations that BJD is following ‘divide and rule’ policy to strengthen the party. While speaking to media today at Naveen Nivas, the CM said, that […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
CM Naveen to campaign for Rita Sahu in Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: Reiterating his decision to field Rita Sahu, wife of late Subal Sahu, for Bijepur byelection, CM and BJD chief Naveen Patnaik after returning from Delhi on Sunday said he will go to Bijepur seeking votes for the party candidate. On a media query on whether he will visit the bypoll-bound constituency for campaigning, he […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Ex-BJD MLA’s joining stokes discontent in BJP

Bhubaneswar: The announcement of ex-BJD MLA Ashok Panigarhi joining BJP on October 2 has not gone down well with several leaders and activists of the saffron party. BJP’s Bargarh district president Narayan Sahu has vehemently opposed the ongoing attempts by the higher echelons of the party to rope in Panigrahi for the Bijepur seat. Sahu […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Ex- MLA Panigrahi to join BJP on Oct 2

Bargarh: The search of BJP for a suitable candidate for the Bijepur bypoll in likely to end as former BJD MLA from the constituency Ashok Panigrahi on Thursday informed that he is going to join the saffron party on October 2. Panigrahi will be joining BJP in presence of Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan at a […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP will win Bijepur bypoll: Dharmendra Pradhan

Bhubaneswar: Even as an official notification for the Bijepur bypoll is yet to be published, political parties are now engaged in a high pitched verbal duel with Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan today claiming that BJP will emerge victorious in the poll with a clear mandate. Though the saffron party is yet to announce its official […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021