Tag: Bijepur Bypoll

BJP on course for winning 120 assembly seats in Odisha: Union Minister

Bargarh: The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) today reiterated that the party is on course for winning 120 assembly seats in Odisha in the upcoming general elections in 2019. Speaking to media after the broadcast of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ‘Mann ki Baat’ programme in Bijepur assembly constituency, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan said the BJP is […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Tension erupts in Bijepur ahead of Modi's 'Mann ki baat' programme today

Bargarh: Much ahead of the broadcast of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ‘Mann ki Baat’ programme today, tension erupted at the Bijepur bus stand area here late on Saturday night as the BJP and the BJD activists reportedly engaged in tearing posters of each other’s party. As per reports, the BJP had made arrangements at the […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP to broadcast Modi’s ‘Mann Ki Baat’ in bypoll-bound Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: In a bid to bring together its workers in bypoll-bound Bijepur Assembly constituency, the Odisha unit of BJP has planned to broadcast Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s radio programme ‘Mann Ki Baat’ tomorrow in all the 270 booths. According to sources, the party has made extensive preparations for the same and 270 state-level leaders of […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJD, Opposition train guns at each other over dates

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced dates for by-poll to three Lok Sabha and two Assembly constituencies in Rajasthan and West Bengal but there was no mention of Bijepur bypoll giving rise to an intense war of words between the ruling BJD and the Opposition parties. While the BJD criticised the […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP prepares blueprint for Bijepur bypoll

Angul: Senior leaders and office bearers of the Odisha BJP today met in Angul to finalise the party’s strategy for the upcoming bypoll for the Bijepur constituency. Sources informed that in presence of the two Union ministers, Dharmendra Pradhan & Jual Oram, the party has prepared a blueprint to take on the ruling-BJD and review […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Throwback 2017: A year of political stirrings

Even though 2017 did not bring any great upheaval in the political landscape of Odisha, it had enough stirrings. Patterns assumed new paradigms, faces got facelifts, oblique became overt, status quo brought predicaments, leaderships lost loyalty and infighting prodded implosions. We look back at some of the stories which created ripples…   Poll battles ahead […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll top on agenda at party meet in Naveen Niwas

Bhubaneswar: With the Bijepur bypoll due early next year, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday held a crucial meeting at Naveen Niwas to discuss strategies on the bypoll to thwart the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress’ tall claims of winning the Constituency. As per reports, ministers, MLAs, an observer and senior leaders […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll
Bijepur lift irrigation project, a poll gimmick: BJP

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday once again slammed the ruling-BJD for lack of budgetary provision for the recently-announced Gangadhar Meher Lift Canal System project in the supplementary budget placed in the Assembly. The members of the BJP’s Kishan Morcha today staged demonstration in front of the Gangadhar Meher’s statue at NALCO Chhak […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
12-hr bandh demanding sub-division status to Barpali

Bargarh: Normal life has been affected in Barpali block in the district today due to a 12-hour bandh called by the Barpali Bar Association demanding ‘sub-division’ status to the town. Schools, colleges, markets and government offices remain closed due to the bandh. Besides, vehicles have been off the roads in view of the bandh since […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: Ex-BJP Bargarh dist Prez officially joins BJD

Bargarh: BJP’s former Bargarh district president Narayan Sahu formally joined BJD at a party workers’ conference in Bijepur today. He was accompanied by various mandal and booth level leaders. After demise of Congress’ Bijepur MLA Subal Sahu, his wife had joined the BJD and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had announced her as the candidate for […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP alleges conspiracy behind land allotment for ethanol plant

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today launched a scathing attack on the ruling BJD government alleging that a conspiracy is being hatched by Labour Minister Sushant Singh in land allotment for the establishment of an ethanol plant in Bargarh district. The BJP’s Paikmal MLA Pradeep Purohit, in a press meet held at the party […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll likely this month

Bhubaneswar: Bypoll for the Bijepur Assembly constituency is likely to be held this month and a notification for the same may be issued soon. Sources said the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha DN Gupta today met the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India and held discussions regarding the bypoll. During the courtesy meeting with […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Centre responsible for delay in Bijepur bypoll: BJD MP

Bhubaneswar: The BJP-led Central government is intentionally delaying announcement of the Bijepur bypoll date, alleged BJD MP Prasanna Acharya today. “The national parties, especially the ruling party are lagging behind in preparations; they have not announced a candidate for the Bijepur bypoll and for some other reasons they want the election to be delayed,” said […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Exodus on: BJP's Bargarh district unit president resigns, to join BJD

Bhubaneswar: Even as the Election Commission is yet to announce dates for Bijepur bypoll, a virtual war has already broken out between the BJD and the BJP to win the seat with the latter’s Bargarh district unit president Narayan Sahu resigning from the party on Tuesday. After resigning from the party, Sahu arrived at Naveen […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP pressuring EC to delay Bijepur bypoll: BJD

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission (EC) is delaying Bijepur bypoll due to pressure from the Centre, alleged Odisha Labour Minister Sushant Singh today. “The BJP is not announcing their candidate, the election date is also not announced, it seems that something fishy is going on. People feel Election Commission is delaying the dates under pressure from […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021