Tag: Bijepur Bypoll

BJD softens stand on its paid news allegations

Bhubaneswar: In stark contrast to its tone yesterday, the ruling-BJD was seen noticeably softening its stance on the allegations of paid news against OTV. The ruling party in a visible digressions from its allegations, today said that it had not blamed the media rather had approached the Chief Electoral Officer seeking inclusion of funds spent […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Tension prevails in Bijepur as cops detain BJP campaign vehicles

Bijepur: Tension prevailed in Bijepur area last night when police detained a few vehicles of BJP workers near Jaringi while they were going for campaigning for the upcoming bypoll. Sources said Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and several BJP workers were going from Bijepur to Jaringi for campaigning in over 15 vehicles. Police allowed three vehicles, […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJP charges four bureaucrats with code violation

Bhubaneswar: Alleging violation of model code of conduct which is in force for Bijepur bypoll, the Odisha unit of BJP today lodged a complaint with the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO)  against four senior bureaucrats demanding action against them for a free and fair election. The four officers are – V K Pandian, private secretary to […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Stage set for triangular fight

Bijepur: Ahead of the by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency on February 24; BJD, BJP and Congress are all battle-ready and have now kicked off their campaigning one after the other. While Congress candidate Pranay Sahu began campaigning today from Barapali after offering worship to Goddess Samaleswari, BJD candidate Rita Sahu accompanied by senior party […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bargarh gets new Collector, SP ahead of Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: Odisha government on Friday appointed new Bargarh Collector and superintendent of police, two weeks ahead of the by-election to the Bijepur assembly constituency in the district. The development comes after the Election Commission ordered  to change the district Collector and SP. The Election Commission of India (ECI) had asked the state government to recommend […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Parties on toes to lure voters

Bhubaneswar/Bijepur: With the day for byelection to Bijepur assembly segment approaching, the BJD and BJP have hit the campaign trail with different strategies to entice voters. Similarly, the Congress party, which has capitalised the issues of farmers and farming community, will start canvassing from Saturday. BJD’s Rita Sahu accompanied by Labour Minister Sushant Singh, Sports […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
ECI seeks appointment of new SP ahead of Bijepur bypoll

Bargarh: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll scheduled for February 24, the Election commission of India (ECI) has begun the process for appointing a new SP for Bargarh, a move which is said to be aimed at ensuring free and fair by-election. In a letter, the Chief Electoral Officer, Odisha has asked the state Home department to […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
BJP heavyweights to campaign in bypoll-bound Bijepur

Bargarh: As the by-election to Bijepur Assembly constituency draws near, the three major political parties are roping in their heavyweights for campaigning for their candidate. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced that top leaders like Union ministers Smriti Irani, Radha Mohan Singh, Ram Kripal Yadav, Santosh Gangwar and Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh will […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJD candidate Rita Sahu files nomination

Bargarh: Amid show of strength by the BJD, party candidate Rita Sahu today filed her nomination papers for the by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency scheduled on February 24. Rita filed her papers, in presence of senior BJD leaders, at the sub-collector office in Padampur. Prasanna Acharya, AU Singh Deo, Minister Sushant Singh, Bargarh MP […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Pranay Sahu named Congress candidate for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: After much speculations, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Sunday named Pranay Sahu, Gaisilat block Vice-Chairman as the party’s candidate for the upcoming Bijepur Assembly by-poll scheduled for February 24. Earlier, the name of former MLA Ripunath Seth was also doing rounds while the top Congress leadership cleared Pranay Sahu’s name today. With […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJP candidate files nomination; Congress still undecided

Bargarh: Amid high security, BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi today filed nomination for the Bijepur bypoll which is scheduled for February 24. However, the Congress is yet to announce its candidate for the by-election. After Ashok Panigrahi filed his nomination, the BJP took out a mega rally in presence of senior party leaders Basant Panda, KV […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJP's Ashok Panigrahi to file nomination today

Bargagarh: Elaborate security arrangements have been made in Padampur in Bargarh district as BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi will file nomination today for the Bijepur bypoll scheduled for February 24. Three platoons of forces have been deployed in the town and Bargarh SP is supervising the security system. Senior police officials have also been engaged in […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Surendra Kumar new Electoral Officer of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll, Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat has appointed Surendra Kumar as the new Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha. An official notification was issued in this regard today. Kumar, a 1993 batch IAS officer, replaced DN Gupta as the CEO of Odisha. Currently Kumar is holding the position of […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Dissidence brews in BJP ahead of Bijepur bypoll

Bargarh: Intraparty rift seems to be brewing within the BJP ahead of the Bijepur bypoll with Nuapada district in-charge Pramod Kumar Chhatar announcing to contest in the election independently. At a Press meet held in Bargarh yesterday, Chhatar, who is also a state executive member of the BJP’s SC Morcha, announced that he will fight […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJP moves EC alleging misuse of power by BJD

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: Alleging misuse of State machinery in bypoll bound Bijepur Assembly constituency, a delegation of BJP comprising Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, MP Bhupinder Yadav, Odisha in-charge Arun Singh and national spokesperson Sambit Patra today met the Election Commission (EC) in New Delhi demanding a free and fair by-election. In a four-page memorandum submitted to […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021