Odishatv Bureau

Bargarh: As the by-election to Bijepur Assembly constituency draws near, the three major political parties are roping in their heavyweights for campaigning for their candidate.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced that top leaders like Union ministers Smriti Irani, Radha Mohan Singh, Ram Kripal Yadav, Santosh Gangwar and Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh will campaign for the party in the constituency.

BJP spokesperson Sajjan Sharma said the party will soon clear the air on the list of campaigners for the Bijepur by-election.

"Many leaders of the party will campaign in the bypoll. We will soon submit a list to the Election Commmission in this regard," said Sharma.

Meanwhile, Congress candidate Pranaya Sahu filed his nomination papers today at the sub-collector office in Padampur in presence of senior party leaders like Prasad Harichandan, Hemananda Biswal, Jayadev Jena and Tara Prasad Bahinipati among others.

Speaking to OTV, Sahu said people will vote for him as he has been working for them for the last 30 years.

Sahu also expressed his confidence of winning the election citing that 80% of voters in the constituency are in favour of Congress.

On the other hand, 22 BJP members from Bijepur joined the BJD at an event organised at the Naveen Niwas in Bhubaneswar today.

"The BJP leaders of Bijepur have joined the BJD today. I welcome them to the party; it will strengthen the party," said Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.