Tag: Bijepur Bypoll

Bijepur Bypoll: Filling of nomination begins

Bhubanerswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) today issued a formal notification for the much-awaited bypoll in Bijepur constituency that was necessitated after the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu. As per the notification, voting for the by-election will be held from 8 am to 5 pm on February 24. The process of filling of […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Ashok Panigrahi named BJP candidate for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: Putting all speculations to rest, BJP on Monday announced Ashok Panigrahi as party candidate for the Bijepur bypoll scheduled to be held on February 24. BJP central election committee has approved the name of Panigrahi as candidate for the by-election, informed JP Nadda, secretary of the committee. An official notification will be issued tomorrow. […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP chalks out strategy for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced its ‘master plan’ for the Bijepur bypoll by appointing three senior leaders as in-charge of three blocks of the assembly constituency. BJP legislature party leader  KV Singh Deo will be in-charge of Gaisilat block while senior leader Jayanarayan Mishra has been given the responsibility of Bijepur block. […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Cong, BJP begin candidate scouting for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: All the three political parties have geared up to chalk out strategies for Bijepur bypoll scheduled to be held on February 24. While the ruling BJD has already named Rita Sahu, wife of incumbent legislator late  Subal Sahu, as its candidate for the by-election, Congress and BJP stated they will name their candidates in […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJD candidate Rita Sahu to file nomination on Feb 5

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: At a time when the Congress and the BJP are yet to finalise candidates for the Bijepur bypoll, BJD’s candidate and late Bijepur MLA Subal Sahu’s wife, Rita Sahu today informed she will file the nomination for the by-election on February 5. Speaking to the media after a meeting at Naveen Nivas here on […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Congress confident of retaining Bijepur seat

Bhubaneswar: With the Election Commission announcing the schedule for by-elections in Bijepur Assembly constituency, the Congress today expressed its confidence to retain the seat where the bypoll was necessitated by the death of their sitting MLA Subal Sahu. Chief of Congress’ Odisha unit, Prasad Harichandan said that while other parties are trying to rope in […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll will not clash with Matric exam dates: EC

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: Clearing the air on a possible clash of dates between the Matriculation examination 2018 and the Bijepur bypoll, the state’s chief electoral officer D N Gupta today said that there would not be any clash of dates. Speaking at a presser here on Thursday, Gupta said the bypoll will not affect matriculation examination even […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Delhi HC directs ECI to file response in seven days

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: A couple of days after a writ petition was filed in Delhi High Court against Election Commission of India (ECI) to issue notification for the by-election in Bijepur Assembly Constituency of Odisha, the court today ordered the commission to submit a reply within seven days. Kanak Foundation & ANR had filed a writ […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Petition filed in Delhi HC against ECI

New Delhi: A writ petition was filed in Delhi High Court today against Election Commission of India (ECI) to issue notification for by-election in Bijepur Assembly Constituency of Odisha. The court has fixed January 22 for hearing the writ petition (WP(C) 599/2018) filed by petitioner Kanak Foundation & ANR. Earlier, BJD and Congress in the […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Political slugfest over Bijepur bypoll date continues

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: With the Election Commission (EC) announcing the dates for polls in three states without any word on the Bjepur by-election, a war of words between the BJP, BJD and the Congress in Odisha has ensued once again. The BJD and the Congress lashed out at the BJP alleging that the saffron party is intentionally […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP holds 'Ganatantra Banchao' rally in Bijepur

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday carried out a ‘Ganatantra Banchao’ padayatra in Bijepur in the wake of the recent cases of violence in the by-poll ready constituency. The padayatra, after covering several villages in the region, will conclude at Barpali on Wednesday. Alleging that the BJD is behind the violence in Bijepur, Odisha […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
EC to announce Bijepur bypoll dates after Jan 20

Bhubaneswar: The date for the bypoll in Bijepur constituency will be announced after January 20, informed Joint Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha Bhabani Prasad Ray today. The deadline for finalisation of voter list for Bijepur constituency has been extended to January 20, he said adding that the list for rest 146 constituencies will be prepared […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
2 held for firing at BJP worker’s house

Bhubaneswar: Amidst the ongoing political blame game between the BJP and BJD, police today arrested two persons for their alleged involvement in firing at the house of Manoranjan Meher, a worker of the saffron party in Odisha’s Bijepur on January 7. The accused have been identified as Md Arshad and Sushant Bhoi and the duo […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJD-BJP indulge in blame game after violence

Bargarh: A day after gunshots were fired at a BJP activist’s residence in Pada village of Bijepur block, the saffron party today blamed the BJD of  indulging in violence to win the bypoll. Three masked men allegedly fired three gunshots at the BJP activist’s house on Sunday evening and fled the spot. Accusing the ruling […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll date announcement soon: Advisor to CEC

Bhubaneswar: Clearing the air on Bijepur bypoll, Advisor to Election Commission (EC) Bhagban Prakash today said that the EC will announce the dates for the bypoll within the stipulated time frame, as per the rules. The continuous delay in by-elections to Bijepur constituency has raised many eyebrows with the BJD and the Congress criticising the […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021