Tag: Bijepur Bypoll

Bijepur Bypoll: BJD reposes faith in Rita Sahu

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today announced Rita Sahu as the party candidate for the high-voltage Bijepur bypoll which is scheduled to be held on October 21. Bijepur Assembly constituency, which will be going to polls next month for the third time in just over a year, has become a battle of prestige with […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: Sanath Gartia Nominated BJP Candidate

Bijepur: Putting all speculations to rest, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today named Sanath Gartia as the party’s candidate for the ensuing by-election to Bijepur assembly constituency in Bargarh. The Central Election Committee of the saffron party today released the list of 36 candidates for by-elections to the Legislative Assembly Constituencies of different States including […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: BJP, BJD, Congress Candidates File Nominations

Bijepur: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll on October 21, BJD candidate Rita Sahu, BJP Candidate Sanath Gartia and Congress’s Dilip Panda filed their nominations in Bargarh today, the last day of filing the papers. Panda accompanied by hundreds of his supporters took out a procession and reached Padampur sub-collector’s office today before submitting his nomination […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
No More Interested In Poll Politics But Will Be With Public: Dama Rout

Bhubaneswar: Shortly after the State unit of BJP released the list of star campaigners for upcoming Bijepur bypoll, Senior BJP leader Damodar Rout today hinted at not contesting direct elections in future and said that he is no more interested in election politics. Interestingly, Rout who was among the star campaigners for the BJP in […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Police To Remain Unbiased During Bijepur Bypoll: Odisha DGP BK Sharma

Bargarh: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll on October 21, Director General of Police (DGP), BK Sharma has assured that police will remain unbiased while discharging its duties and will not show undue favours to political parties and act as per the guidelines laid out by the Election Commission. During a review meeting held today at […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: Odisha Congress pacifies dissent

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: Former Bijepur MLA and senior Congress leader Ripunath Seth, who had earlier expressed his dissatisfaction after the grand old party declared Dilip Panda as its candidate for the bypoll in Bijepur Assembly seat, today said that no one is above the party and he will campaign for party candidate in the by-election. Seth said […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
'Dissent' In Odisha BJP Ahead Of Bijepur Bypoll

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: Resentment over selection of candidates often leads to protests within political parties following which party top brass and senior leaders are seen scurrying to pacify the dissidents. A similar scene is being witnessed in Odisha BJP after the party announced Sanath Gartia as its candidate for the upcoming Bijepur bypoll. BJP leader Ashok Panigrahi, […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
Rs 19 Lakh Seized By Flying Squad Ahead Of Bijepur Bypoll

Bijepur: Ahead of the much-awaited Bijepur byelection, Rs 19 lakh was seized from a car by the election commission flying squad in Barpali area in Bargarh district on Thursday night. Barpali BDO who is currently the magistrate in-charge and the election flying squad seized the cash from a car belonging to a businessman of Bagbahra […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
BJD concedes that it is likely to 'lose vote share' in Bijepur bypoll

Bargarh: As BJD, BJP and Congress gear up for a triangular showdown in the bypoll in Bijepur Assembly constituency on October 21, senior BJD leader and government’s chief whip Pramila Mallick today accepted that that the ruling party may not get as many votes in the upcoming bypoll as during the last elections. The Biju […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
BJP Leader Ashok Panigrahi Quits Party

Bhubaneswar: Putting all speculations to rest, senior BJP leader Ashok Panigrahi today resigned from primary membership of the party just few days before the crucial Bijepur bypoll. Panigrahi, who lost the election after being nominated as the saffron party’s candidate for Bijepur bypoll in 2018, reiterated that he was ignored within the party and not […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
After Quitting BJP, Ashok Panigrahi To Support BJD In Bijepur Bypoll

Bhubaneswar: A day after resigning from primary membership of BJP, senior leader Ashok Panigrahi today said that he will extend support to his former party BJD in the upcoming Bijepur bypoll. Panigrahi said he has decided to do so after taking suggestion from his supporters. However, the former MLA also said that his support to the […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll Turf: A Battle of Two Narratives

Bargarh: The erstwhile Congress bastion Bijepur has become a battleground of the resurgent BJP while the BJD is determined to win the Assembly seat for the third time in 20 months. Still, the grand old party is also leaving no stone unturned to regain its lost ground. Of all, the Bijepur fight seems to be […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
Column: Bijepur No Cakewalk for BJD

By Ashutosh Mishra Bhubaneswar: Opposition parties have a slew of prickly campaign issues against the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Bijepur where the canvassing for the bye-election is in full swing. The BJP, which is the main opponent of BJD in the constituency, has already made its intentions clear. It is going all out […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
Column: A Marriage Of Convenience Ends On A Sour Note

By Ashutosh Mishra Bhubaneswar: Politics makes strange bedfellows. One was reminded of this saying when former minister, Damodar Rout joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in March this year. It was an out and out opportunistic move that at that point of time suited both Rout and the party he had decided to hitch his […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021
Political temperature soars in Bijepur as campaigning picks pace

Bargarh: The Bijepur Assembly constituency has turned into a political cauldron with the three major political parties- BJD, BJP and Congress- leaving no stone unturned to attract voters’ attention to win the bypoll which is scheduled to be held on October 21. BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday raised the tempo […]

  • Saturday, 24 April 2021