Tag: Bijepur Bypoll

BJD will cease to exist post Naveen: Congress

Bhubaneswar: War of words between political parties in Odisha is getting intense ahead of the Bijepur bypoll with Congress today claiming that the ruling-Biju Janata Dal (BJD) will cease to exist following the retirement of Chief Minister and party president Naveen Patnaik in a span of two years. While lambasting BJD vice president Surya Narayan […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Ex- MLA Panigrahi blasts BJD with past

Bhubaneswar: In a new twist to the ongoing wrangle in the run up to the Bijepur bypoll, former MLA from the constituency Ashok Kumar Panigrahi today brought a flurry of allegations against his former party BJD. Speaking to OTV, the former legislator said senior BJD leader, late Kalpataru Das had advised him to contest from […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Late Cong MLA Subal Sahu's wife named BJD candidate

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: Clearing the air, Odisha Chief Minister and BJD President Naveen Patnaik today declared late Subal Sahu’s wife Rita as the party candidate for the bypoll in Bijepur Assembly constituency. The bypoll was necessitated by the death of Congress MLA, Subal Sahu. “Yes, I think Rita Sahu will be our candidate,” said Patnaik while answering […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Subal Sahu’s wife to contest Bijepur bypoll on BJD ticket

Bhubaneswar: Late Congress leader Subal Sahu’s wife Rita Sahu will contest the Bijepur bypoll on Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ticket. Rita, her son Sumit Sahu along with various supporters joined BJD today at the party headquarters here in presence of BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. “Our family joined BJD as it was my […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Parties jostle to snatch Bijepur seat from Congress in bypoll

Bhubaneswar: The run up to the Bijepur Assembly bypoll is turning out to be quite a wrangle as BJP is now contemplating to rope in former BJD MLA Ashok Panigrahi to contest for the seat. The development assumes significance owing to the fact that family members of late Congress MLA Subal Sahu, whose death necessitated […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
CEC seeks report on shoe hurling at CM Naveen

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) on Wednesday sought a report from the Odisha State Election Commissioner (SEC) on the incident of shoe hurling at Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik during the by-election campaign in Bijepur on Tuesday. A delegation of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), led by party MP Pinaki Mishra, met the CEC […]

  • Wednesday, 07 July 2021
BJD will win the Bijepur bypoll: Rita Sahu

Rita Sahu, the BJD candidate for Bijepur bypoll, has been the cynosure of all eyes in the political circles in the state from the day she joined the party. The bypoll to the seat was necessitated after  the untimely demise of three-time Congress MLA from Bijepur, Subal Sahu. Being the wife of Sahu was never […]

  • Thursday, 01 July 2021
Will Bijepur Change Anything?

Rarely has an Assembly election received so much of attention – and for so long. The spotlight turned to this little known constituency in Bargarh district soon after the untimely demise of sitting Congress MLA Subal Sahu on August 22 last year and has not, despite the media’s well known short attention span on any […]

  • Thursday, 10 June 2021
Poaching, Fence-jumping Have Come To Stay

The notification for the bypoll in Bijepur is yet to be issued by the Election Commission (EC). But in a feat unparalleled in the annals of Odisha politics, the little known Assembly constituency in Bargarh district has dominated the political discourse in the state for close to three months now. In the process, it has […]

  • Thursday, 10 June 2021
Bijepur or Hinjili - Which seat will CM Naveen Vacate?

Bhubaneswar: After being sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Odisha for the fifth term in a row, BJD president Naveen Patnaik, who had contested from Hinjili and Bijepur Assembly seats and won both, will have to vacate one constituency. While Naveen is yet to decide which segment to retain, a debate is already raging. Party […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
naveen patnaik
CM Naveen Vacates Bijepur Assembly Seat, Retains Hinjili

Bhubaneswar: Putting all speculations to rest, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today vacated the Bijepur Assembly seat and retained the Hinjili constituency. CM Naveen had contested and won both the Assembly constituencies- Bijepur in Bargarh district and Hinjili in Ganjam district- in 2019 polls. Speculations had started to build regarding him vacating Bijepur since the […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: Parties face candidate conundrum

Bhubaneswar: After BJD President and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik vacated the Bijepur by retaining his home turf Hinjili Assembly Constituency, the bypoll for the seat now seems to be anybody’s game. Speculations are now spooling over who will be the candidate of the ruling-Biju Janata Dal (BJD) for the Bijepur by-poll even though official dates […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll: Congress fires ‘Betrayer’ salvo at CM Naveen, Rita Sahu Hits Back

Bhubaneswar: A day after the ruling-Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha constituted a four-member election coordination team for Bijepur bypoll, Congress MLA Tara Bahinipati today tagged Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik as ‘beiman’ and ‘traitor’ for vacating Bijepur Assembly seat. However, former MLA Rita Sahu was fast enough to hit back stating that several developmental works […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Bijepur Bypoll On Oct 21, Counting on Oct 24: ECI

Bhubaneswar:  The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced the date for by-election to Bijepur Assembly seat. As per the Commission’s decision, the Bijepur bypoll will be held on October 21. An official notification regarding the bypoll will be issued on September 23 while the last date for filing of nomination by candidates is […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Help Us! No Money To Fight Bijepur Bypoll: Odisha Congress Chief

Bhubaneswar: With barely a month left for the high voltage Bijepur bypoll, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik today sought financial assistance from party leaders and other affluent supporters to meet the expenditure of the by-election. All the party funds have been spent during the recently-concluded general elections and now Congress needs the […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021