Probe into crimes against women gets major boost

Cuttack: The Odisha government has accorded permission for creation of at least 330 different posts in the state Police to establish 22 separate investigating units for crimes against women.

Out of 35 police districts in the state, 22 would get one unit each and an unit would have one additional SP, two deputy SPs, four inspectors, four sub-inspectors and four constables, a release issued by the police headquarters here today said.

The police districts to have the units are Cuttack, Rural Cuttack, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Puri, Nayagarh, Khurda, Bhadrak, Baragarh, Jharsuguda, Bolangir, Sonepur, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Kandhamal, Kalahandi, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Sundargarh, and Keonjhar.

Once set up, the units would exclusively probe into crimes against women and ensure that victims get speedy justice, a senior officer of the Personnel department at the police headquarters, said.

Investigations into heinous crimes against women like rape, dowry deaths, acid attacks and human trafficking would get a major boost by establishment of the units, the officer said adding, thorough investigations would lead to stronger prosecutions and higher convictions.

Besides investigation, the personnel of these units would also engage themselves in intelligence gathering, tracking organised crimes and checking crimes against women.

At least 33 per cent of the personnel would be women to encourage the victims to come forward and seek justice, the release said.