Met issues thunderstorm, lightning alert for 21 districts


Bhubaneswar: Thunderstrom and lightning warning has been issued for 21 districts of Odisha by regional office of Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today.

The alert has been issued for Keonjhar, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Angul, Sambalpur, Cuttack, Khurda, Puri, Nayagarh, Boudh, Kandhamal, Kalahandi, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Koraput, Ganjam, Gajapati, Bargarh and Sonepur districts.

Satellite images of Doppler Weather Radar indicated thunderstorm with lightning and heavy rainfall are likely to occur at one or two places in these districts.

The alert has been sounded for the districts between 5.30 pm to 9.30 pm. People in these districts have been advised to take shelter in nearby buildings or other safe locations.

You might also like