Odisha signs MoU to bring rail connectivity to seven districts

New Delhi: Seven districts in Odisha which do not have train services will be now get rail connectivity. A MoU in this regard has been signed between the Rail ministry and the Odisha government today at New Delhi. The MoU has been signed to provide railway connectivity to Boudh, Kandhamal, Nayagarh, Nabrangpur, Kendrapara, Malkangiri and Deogarh districts.

According to sources, following the MoU, a special purpose vehicle committee will be set up to implement the project. The Odisha government will have 51% stake in the project while the Railways ministry will have 49% stake, informed sources.

Union Railways minister Suresh Prabhu, Odisha Transport Minister Ramesh Majhi along with Union Tribal Affairs minister Jual Oram, Minister of State for Railways Manoj Sinha and all the parliamentarians from Odisha were present during the signing of MoU.

“Odisha is a state which has huge natural resources and tremendous tourism potential, which are not being exploited due to lack of rail connectivity. Hence, we signed this agreement after discussions with chief minister Naveen Patnaik,” said Prabhu.

“It’s a historical step and I would like to thank prime minister Narendra Modi, and Railway minister Prabhu for it. It will boost development manifolds and I hope that Odisha will have a significant place in Indian Railway map,” said Oram.

“Apart from providing rail connectivity to these areas, agreements have been signed for various other ancillary aspects as demanded by the public of the area. Work on the project will soon commence,” said Majhi.