Vikash Sharma

Amid the continuing suspense surrounding the next Chief Minister of Odisha, names of several prominent leaders including BJP National Vice-President Baijayant Panda, Odisha BJP President Manmohan Samal, Girish Chandra Murmu, and Suresh Pujari are doing the rounds for the top position. 

Meanwhile, adding to the suspense over the potential candidate, BJP MLA Suresh Pujari, who returned from New Delhi after PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony, informed that a decision would be taken soon. A decision would be taken by senior leaders and newly appointed central observers who will visit the state and hold talks with the newly-elected MLAs, Pujari revealed.

Read More | BJP appoints Rajnath Singh, Bhupender Yadav as observers to pick Odisha CM

"Wait for the announcement by the party," Pujari asserted.

BJP top brass on Sunday announced the names of its Central observers Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav who will oversee the next course of action. The crucial meeting is likely to be held on June 11 (tomorrow).

In an exclusive interview with OTV, Pujari said, "In BJP there is no race for any post, everything is in media. In the party, everything is based on consensus, and a decision is taken by the Parliamentary Board. Senior leaders Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav will be visiting the state as observers and will attend the legislative party meeting tomorrow."

Pujari also revealed that PM Narendra Modi would hold a mega roadshow on June 12 to thank the people of Odisha for giving 20 parliamentary seats and a clear mandate to form the next government in Odisha.

Meanwhile, on the buzz over GC Murmu's name for the CM post in some national media, Odisha election in-charge Vijaypal Singh Tomar said that there was nothing of that sort and he had no knowledge about it. However, everything will be decided in the legislative party meeting, he said.

Newly elected BJP MLA Rabi Nayak said, "The crucial meeting is scheduled to be held on June 11 and every aspect including the selection of CM will be finalised. BJP is karyakarta based party and decision is taken accordingly. Apart from the names which are doing rounds, there are also other leaders as well."

Keonjhar Sadar MLA Mohan Majhi, MLA Jaya Narayan Mishra, KV Singh Deo are said to be the frontrunners for the deputy chief minister post.

Also Read | History will not treat Naveen as kindly as Odias did him in his lifetime

Worth mentioning, the swearing-in ceremony for the first BJP government in Odisha on Sunday was rescheduled from June 10 to June 12. This was due to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's other commitments. As per the revised schedule, PM Narendra Modi will attend the oath-taking ceremony of the Odisha CM to be held at Janata Maidan on June 12.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now