Vikash Sharma

The new Odisha Chief Minister will take oath at 4:45 pm on June 12. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to arrive in Bhubaneswar and attend the mega swearing-in ceremony to be held at Janata Maidan. A tight security arrangement has been made for the grand event after the BJP toppled the BJD government in the recently concluded elections in Odisha.

The BJP registered a thumping victory by winning 20 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats and got a clear majority by winning 78 out of 147 Assembly seats in Odisha.

Twin City Police Commissioner, Sanjeeb Panda on Monday informed that the security arrangements have been made and it will be finalised after getting exact programme details of the Prime Minister.

Also Read | Suspense over Odisha CM: Wait for the announcement, says Suresh Pujari; Tomar clears air over GC Murmu's name

"The venue is guarded and being sanitised everyday. All hotels in the city are being checked as well," said Panda.

As per sources, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will arrive in Bhubaneswar at around 2:10 pm on June 12 and will straight head to Odisha Raj Bhavan. From Raj Bhavan, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will visit the Janata Maidan where the grand event will be held.

Odisha BJP president Manmohan Samal said that the BJP's legislative party meeting will be held on June 11 and the oath-taking ceremony will be held the next day on June 12.

"Chief Ministers of several states and eminent personalities will be attending the oath-taking ceremony. It is a proud moment that BJP's CM will take oath a decision will be taken by the Parliamentary party and they will take an appropriate decision on it. Whatever role was assigned to me, I discharged it by taking everybody together," said Samal when asked whether he is in race for the CM's post.

  • Reported by:

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now