Tag: By Poll

Congress fields Kishore Patel for Brajarajnagar by-election
Congress fields Kishore Patel for Brajarajnagar by-election

Congress President Sonia Gandhi approved Patel’s candidature on Monday after recommendation of his name by the OPCC. 

MLA’s Death Necessitates By-poll In Brajarajnagar; To Be Held Within 6 months
MLA’s Death Necessitates By-poll In Brajarajnagar; To Be Held Within 6 months

The Brajarajnagar Assembly constituency would go for by-election in the next six months. 

Stage Set
Pipili Bypoll: 201 Booths Designated Critical

With Pipili by-election slated to be held on September 30, Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha, Sushil Lohani on Tuesday shared the updates on preparations. According to Lohani, the silence period started from Monday (September 27) evening 6 PM.

Video Icon
Odisha By-Polls: BJD Marching Ahead Of Rival BJP

Bhubaneswar: Candidates from the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) have registered lead over their nearest rival BJP nominees so far in the by-elections for the Tirtol and Balasore Sadar constituencies as the counting of votes continues. As per the counting trends of  the Election Commission of India (ECI), BJD nominee Bijay Shankar Das is leading […]

No Road, No Vote: Three Panchayats In Tirtol To Boycott By-poll

Tirtol: After Nandachaka village in Balasore, the residents of three panchayats under Tirtol block in Jagatsinghpur district have decided to boycott the upcoming by-election to the Assembly constituency. The residents of Gopalpur, Baritola and Katara panchayats are reportedly angry over the pathetic condition of roads in their villages. The development comes at a time when […]

People In This Balasore Village To Boycott The By-poll: Know Why

Balasore: Angry over the pathetic condition of roads and other problems persisting in the village in the aftermath of the recent flood, residents from Nandachaka village in Parikhi Panchayat (under Balasore Sadar block) have decided to boycott the by-election for the Assembly constituency, to be held on November 3. The development comes at a time […]

Political Parties Brace Up For High-Octane Bypoll Battle In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: With the Election Commission of India (ECI) announcing that the by-polls to the Assembly constituencies in different states will be completed by November end, political parties are bracing up in Odisha for the Tirtol and the Balasore Sadar bypolls. Ruling BJD’s Balasore district observer and Minister Pratap Jena today chaired a closed door meeting […]

EC begins spadework for Bijepur bypoll; date yet to be declared

Bhubaneswar: The Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) and Electronic Voting Machines have been procured for the Bijepur bypoll, said Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha DN Gupta today without disclosing date for the by-election. He informed mediapersons that VVPAT machines have been procured from Gujarat as per the directive of the Election Commission of India. […]

Minister Ramesh Majhi shown black flags in Sonepur

Sonepur: Activists of Sonepur district unit of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) showed black flags to ST and SC Development Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi today as a mark of protest against acute shortage of doctors in the district headquarters hospital. The protesters waived black flags at Nalini square when the minister was returning after chairing […]

Congress wins Chitrakoot by-poll

Bhopal: Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi was on Sunday declared elected to the Madhya Pradesh Assembly from Chitrakoot constituency, defeating the BJP by 14,133 votes. Chaturvedi led right from the start of vote count at 8 a.m. and kept increasing his winning lead, officials said. After 19 rounds of counting, he worsted the Bharatiya Janata Party’s […]

G.A. Mir
'Will withdraw if Governor's rule not imposed in J&K'

Srinagar: Joint candidate of the Congress and National Conference for south Kashmir’s Anantnag parliamentary seat, G.A. Mir, on Tuesday said that he will withdraw if the Governor’s rule is not imposed in the state. Mir on Monday had opposed the deferment of the by-poll in Anantnag parliamentary constituency. Talking to the media in Anantnag, Mir […]

dhenkanal bypoll
By-poll for Dhenkanal Municipality chairman today

Dhenkanal: The by-poll for the post of chairman of the Dhenkanal Municipality will be held today. All political parties will give their candidates for the seats reserved for scheduled tribes (STs). As per the schedule, filing of nomination would be held at the premises of the Municipality office at 10 am while the voting would […]