Odishatv Bureau

Dhenkanal: The by-poll for the post of chairman of the Dhenkanal Municipality will be held today.

All political parties will give their candidates for the seats reserved for scheduled tribes (STs). As per the schedule, filing of nomination would be held at the premises of the Municipality office at 10 am while the voting would be held from 1.30pm to 3pm. The results would be declared after counting today.

The Dhenkanal Municipal Council has 23 councillors. The by-election for the post was necessitated after Dhenkanal Municipality chairman Indramani Behera was defeated in a Congress-sponsored no-confidence motion on August 1. After hearing of a writ petition over the issue filed in the High Court, the State Election Commission decide to conduct the election.

The district sub-Collector has been appointed as the election officer. Police have made elaborate arrangements for smooth conduct of the election.