Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: With the Election Commission of India (ECI) announcing that the by-polls to the Assembly constituencies in different states will be completed by November end, political parties are bracing up in Odisha for the Tirtol and the Balasore Sadar bypolls.

Ruling BJD's Balasore district observer and Minister Pratap Jena today chaired a closed door meeting in presence of some MLAs and Tourism Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi to take a stock of the party situation in the Balasore Sadar Assembly constituency.

Speaking to the media, Jena informed that the BJD will take a decision about its candidate soon. “We have discussed with all the top leaders of Balasore district. But no final decision has been taken yet. Our party president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will take the final call,” Jena said.

BJP has also started their preparations in full swing. “Late Balasore Sadar MLA Madan Mohan Dutta is missed by people here. His son has been given the responsibility as the coordinator of Balasore Sadar. Our party is in a good position here. We are confident of winning the seat,” stated BJP state general secretary, Golak Mohapatra.

Meanwhile, Congress also boasts of victory in the by-poll. “If the ruling party does not use money and muscle power, we will definitely win,” said Congress MLA Santosh Singh Saluja.

Earlier on September 9, the Election Commission of India had decided to conduct by-elections at the 64 vacant assembly constituencies across the country, including two in Odisha – Balasore Sadar and Tirtol by November 29.

In Odisha, both the seats fell vacant after the elected MLAs in the respective constituencies died. BJP MLA from Balasore Sadar constituency Madan Mohan Dutta passed away on June 17, 2020, while BJD MLA from Tirtol Bishnu Charan Das had breathed his last on July 6, 2020.

Read More:

EC Announces Bypolls For 64 Seats Including 2 In Odisha Along With Bihar Assembly Elections