Odisha govt promotes 12 IPS officers

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Tuesday promoted 12 senior IPS officers to higher rank.

According to a Home department notification, 1991 batch Debasis Panigrahi has been promoted to the rank of Additional Director General of Police (ADGP) and posted as ADG, (Personnel) at the State Police Headquarters.

Amitabh Thakur, Dayal Gangwar and NB Bharathi of 1998 batch have been promoted to the rank of Inspector General (IG).

While Thakur will take charge as IG, Southern Range, Gangwar will be the IG, Odisha State Armed Police (OSAP).

Besides, 1998 batch S Devdatt Singh, DIG, Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) and 1998 batch Ravi Kant, DIG, CBI, have been given proforma promotion.

Two IPS officers of 2002 batch— S Parveen Kumar and Narasingha Bhol (SP, Ganjam) have been given proforma promotion to selection grade and in situ promotion to selection grade respectively. Of the three IPS officers of 2003 batch, Kavita Jalan (SP, Keonjhar) has got in situ promotion to selection grade while Shafeen Ahmed K and Himanshu Kumar Lal have got proforma promotion.

While Ahmed is on inter-cadre deputation, Lal is currently on Central deputation, the notification added