Four sentenced to 26 yrs RI for attacking police officer

Jajpur: Four persons were on Saturday sentenced to 26 years rigorous imprisonment by a local court for attempting to murder a police officer four years ago.

District Judge Jiban Ballav Das held Asit Kumar Kar alias Lipua, Purna Chandra Mohapatra, Manmath Nanda alias Tutula and Dillip Ray alias Dilu guilty under sections 307 (attempt to murder), 399 (making preparation to commit dacoity) and 402 (assembling for committing dacoity) of IPC.

They were also convicted under 353 (Assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty) and 34 (common intention) of IPC and section 25 of Indian Arms Act.

Besides, the judge also awarded imprisonment for three years to Bijay Kumar Panda who was convicted for harbouring the offenders.

According to the prosecution, on August 26, 2010 Balichandrapur police station inspector-in-charge Aswini Kumar Sahoo got information that five dacoits were planning to commit a crime in his area.

He went to Krusnadaspurchhak on National Highway no-5(A) in Jajpur district along with a police team to nab them. After a thorough search the police team could locate the gang at Benapur Chhak.

All the dacoits had already boarded a vehicle by the time the police team reached there. As the police team chased the gang and intercepted the vehicle, Asit Kumar Kar suddenly opened fire at Sahoo who sustained bullet injuries.

The dacoits escaped by taking advantage of darkness. A seriously injured Sahu was rushed to SCB Medical College and Hospital in Cuttack.

Subsequently, all dacoits except one, identified as Hati, were arrested. Later, their accomplice Bijay Kumar Panda was also arrested for harbouring the culprits.