Block grant teachers’ stir: First inter-ministerial meet today

Bhubaneswar: With an aim to find a solution to the agitation by lecturers of 488 and 622 Category Colleges, a ministerial-level meeting will be held at the secretariat here on Monday.

The five-member committee, headed by Finance minister Pradip Amat, was formed on the orders of chief minister Naveen Patnaik. Law minister Arun Sahoo, Technical Education minister Sanjay Das Burma, Higher Education minister Pradeep Kumar Panigrahi and Energy minister Pranab Prakash Das are the other members of the committee, sources added.

Block grant lecturers have already staged demonstration in front of the residence of Higher Education minister Pradeep Kumar Panigrahi demanding regularization of their jobs.

The lecturers had also threatened to stay away from their duty during the Plus II and Plus III exam scheduled to be held between February 16 and March 2.

About 15,000 teachers and employees in the 662 and 488 aided colleges getting block grant are staging a dharna at PMG Square here demanding abolition of block grant and implementation of Grant-In-Aid (GIA) for them irrespective of their categories.