• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Tag: Rajya Sabha Elections

Rajya Sabha
Polling underway for 16 RS seats in four states

The Election Commission has appointed special observers and ordered videography of the entire exercise.

Rajya Sabha Elections
RS polls: Voting underway in Maharashtra; close fight between Shiv Sena and BJP for sixth seat

The polling process, which began at 9 am, will go on till 4 pm and the results will be declared in the evening.

Rajya Sabha Election
BJD announces candidates for 4 Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday announced the names of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidates for the elections to four Rajya Sabha seats.

Rajya Sabha
How Assembly Polls Will Impact Presidential And Rajya Sabha Elections

The BJP has a brute majority in the assemblies of UP and Uttarakhand and any reduction of seats will put the game in the opposition camp as the Chief Ministers of different regional parties are trying to join hands.

Shah's Odisha Visit Is More About Rajya Sabha Seats Than Official Programme: Congress

Bhubaneswar: With all eyes set on the upcoming election of Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha, the Congress on Sunday said that the real reason of Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s scheduled visit to the State on February 28 is more about striking a deal with CM Naveen Patnaik for Rajya Sabha seats than attending official […]

Does CM Naveen’s RS googly not smack of opportunism amid equidistant claims?

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik’s announcement of party candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha by-elections and importantly, extending support to BJP’s RS candidate came as a big surprise for many. Many believe it is a calculated step to save his coterie group. It is alleged that many a leader of the […]

How will BJD rehabilitate its failed leaders to avoid dissidence?

Bhubaneswar: With the bypoll to three Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha just round the corner, the biggest challenge for the ruling-BJD is now to rehabilitate its aspiring leaders. After sending three leaders to Rajya Sabha next month, the BJD will again have a chance next year when four more RS seats will fall vacant. So, […]

Lobbying begins for Odisha RS race; Naveen keeps cards close to his chest

Bhubaneswar: No sooner did the Election Commission of India (ECI) issue the notification for the three vacant Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha, an intense lobbying has begun in the ruling BJD. The BJD aspirant list for the Upper House not only has politicians, names of former bureaucrats and cine stars are also featuring prominently. The […]

Rajya Sabha: Odisha Elders give thumbs down to Tribal/backward districts!

Bhubaneswar: In Odisha, when the Rajya Sabha polls have increasingly becoming a rehab exercise for the Men Fridays of the ruling party, the State’s tribal and backward districts emerge as the biggest loser in this type of politics. The equitable representation of districts was not the only casualty. But districts starved of development failed to […]

NOTA can't be permitted in RS polls, says SC

New Delhi: The Supreme Court today said the option of none of the above (NOTA) cannot be permitted in Rajya Sabha elections. A bench of Chief Justice Dipak Misra and justices A M Khanwilkar and D Y Chandrachud has set aside the Election Commission’s notification allowing NOTA option in the ballot papers for Rajya Sabha […]

BJD candidates elected to Rajya Sabha uncontested

Bhubaneswar: Three Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidates – Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Achyuta Samanta and Prasanta Nanda were elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha on Thursday after the last date of withdrawal of nomination ended today. Returning officer Patil Rajesh Prabhakar declared the names of three ruling party candidates as elected members to the upper house of […]

Nominations of BJD Rajya Sabha candidates accepted

Bhubaneswar: Nomination papers of BJD candidates for three Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha were found valid after scrutiny and were accepted today. Besides the three BJD candidates – Achyuta Samanta, Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Prashanta Nanda – social activist Subash Mohapatra had filed nomination for election to the House of Elders as an independent candidate. […]

BJD leaders file nomination for Rajya Sabha seats

Bhubaneswar: Three Biju Janata Dal leaders- Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Achyut Samanta and party spokesperson Prasanta Nanda – filed their nomination papers for three Rajya Sabha seats here on Friday. They filed their papers before the Returning officer at the Odisha Legislative Assembly in presence of Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik. Several Ministers and […]

Dharmendra Pradhan among 7 Union Ministers renominated to Rajya Sabha

New Delhi: The BJP on Wednesday renominated Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and seven other retiring members which includes seven Union Ministers for the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls. Pradhan along with Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot have been shifted to Madhya Pradesh while Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been nominated from […]

BJD announces candidates for Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar: Clearing the air, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday announced its candidates for Rajya Sabha. As expected, Ama Odisha chief Soumya Ranjan Patnaik along with founder of KIIT and KISS Achyuta Samanta and party spokesperson Prashanta Nanada were given the tickets. The names of three candidates were announced by Odisha Chief Minister […]

RS Nomination
Nomination papers of 3 BJD RS candidates valid

Bhubaneswar: Out of six nomination papers filed for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections on June 11, the three filed by the BJD candidates have been found valid while three others have been rejected by the returning officer. After scrutiny, it was found out that the nomination papers of only BJD candidates- namely, Prasanna Acharya, Bishnucharan […]

Jayanarayan Mishra
BJP MLAs seek Parl Board's decision on RS polls

Unable to take a decision on supporting BJD-backed independent candidate Raghunath Mohapatra in the February 7 Rajya Sabha elections in Odisha, BJP Legislature Party on Monday left the matter to be decided by the party's parliamentary board.