• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

New Delhi: The BJP on Wednesday renominated Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and seven other retiring members which includes seven Union Ministers for the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls.

Pradhan along with Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot have been shifted to Madhya Pradesh while Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been nominated from Uttar Pradesh.

Health Minister J.P. Nadda has been renominated from Himachal Pradesh and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has been renominated from Bihar.

Minister of State for Agriculture Parshottam Rupala and Minister of State for Chemical and Fertilizer Mansukh Bhai Mandaviya have been renominated from Gujarat.

Besides these seven ministers, the Bharatiya Janata Party has renominated its General Secretary Bhupender Yadav from Rajasthan.

Eight Ministers of the Modi Cabinet are retiring from the Rajya Sabha.

The name of Union HRD Minister Pradesh Javadekar did not figure in the first list of candidates announced by the BJP here on Wednesday.

He is expected to make a comeback from his home state Maharashtra. He is retiring as a member of the upper house from Madhya Pradesh.

Jaitley, who has been representing Gujarat in the Upper House, will re-enter from Uttar Pradesh as the party decided to renominate Rupala and Mandaviya from the state.

As per the numbers in ccording the Gujarat Assembly, only two members from the BJP can be sent to the Rajya Sabha. So, the party opted to nominate Jaitley from Uttar Pradesh.

The BJP, on its own, can send back only one of the two retiring members -- Prasad and Pradhan -- from Bihar. It opted to renominate Prasad from the state and decided to shift Pradhan to Madhya Pradesh.

Other Stories