Defender Yogesh to lead Delhi football team

New Delhi: Defender Yogesh Prasad will lead a 20-member Delhi squad for participation in the North Zone leg of the 71st National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy 2016-17 scheduled to begin from December 27, it was announced on Sunday.

Another defender Abhishek Rawat was named as vice-captain of the team by the Delhi Soccer Association (DSA) selection committee after 20-day open selection trials-cum-coaching camp held at the Ambedkar Atadium.

The team left for the tournament that will take place in Sunder Nagar in Himachal Pradesh on Sunday morning. The tournament ends on January 1, 2017.

Abhijoy Basu is the chief coach and Ravi Rana his assistant. Magan Singh Patwal serves as the manager of the squad.

The squad:

Goal-keepers: Pronoy Roy, Apoorv Kakkar, Vijay Pratap

Defenders: Sonu Beniwal, Abhishek Rawat (vice-captain), Yogesh Prasad (captain), Nitin Rawat, Vikass Rawat, Yashdeep Solanki

Mid-fielders: Dilliram Sanyasi, Mukesh Kumar, Dheeraj Sing Jangpangi, Ankit Kumar Rana, Aditya Singh Rawat, Anuj Sharma

Forwards: Kushan Chauhan, Yogesh Kumar, Monu Choudhary, Harish Karki, Kamal Singh.