S Shyni new DIG, State Police Headquarters

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government today effected changes in top police level with seven IPS officers being given new assignments.

While 2001 batch IPS officer S Shyni was appointed as the new Deputy Inspector General (DIG) and posted at the State Police Headquarters, 2007 batch officer Niti Sekhar was the new Superintendent of Police (SP), Balasore, state government officials said.

Awinash Kumar would be the new commandant of OSAP and posted at Baripada. 2008 batch IPS Uma Shankar Dash was posted as SP of Jharsuguda district. Sarah Sharma, a 2010 batch officer, would be the new SP of Deogarh district, they said.

While 2010 batch IPS officer Ashish Kumar Singh was appointed as SP, Baragarh district, 2011 batch officer Buttula Gangadhar would be the SP of Boudh district.

Senior OPS officer P C Patra was appointed as the SP of Sonepur district, the officials added.