Himansu Shekhar Rout

Four MLAs who resigned from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) were issued show-cause notices on grounds of defection by the Speaker of the Odisha Assembly on Tuesday.  

Nimapara MLA Samir Ranjan Dash, Hindol MLA Simarani Nayak, Athamallick MLA Ramesh Sai and Soro MLA Parshuram Dhada have been asked to furnish their replies to the notices by May 27. They are supposed to explain why they would not be disqualified from their Assembly membership on grounds of defection. 

As per reports, the Chief whip of the ruling party Prasanta Muduli filed a petition on Monday with the Odisha Assembly Speaker Pramila Mallik, seeking disqualification of these four legislators under the anti-defection laws. 

The Speaker accepted the petition of Muduli and directed the Odisha Legislative Assembly Secretary to issue show-cause notices to these MLAs.

Notably, all four legislators have joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). 

Earlier, MLAs including Arabinda Dhali and Premananda Nayak were disqualified days after quitting the BJD and then joining the BJP. 

Parshuram Dhada has been fielded as MLA candidate for the Soro seat by the BJP, Simarani for the Hindol constituency while Arabinda Dhali has been nominated for the Jayadev Assembly seat.

  • Reported by:

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now