Presidential Election: Odisha CM, MLAs cast votes


Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: Voting for the 14th President of India began at Odisha Assembly at 10 am today. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and many MLAs reached the Assembly to exercise their power to vote.

The contest for the President post is between National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Ram Nath Kovind and candidate of several major opposition parties Meira Kumar, who was former Lok Sabha Speaker.

Security arrangements have been tightened for the polling that is being held at Room No. 54 of the Assembly. The voters are expected to show their identity proofs before entering the polling booth. No mobile phone or camera is allowed into the room. The voting will continue till 5 pm.

CM Naveen exercised his power to vote in the presidential election. Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra was the first to cast his vote followed by deputy leader of the Congress Legislature Party Chiranjib Biswal, Congress MLAs Debendra Sharma and Naba Kishore Das.

As per reports, 33 observers have been appointed all over the country by the Election Commission of India to monitor the process. While two observers are deployed at the Parliament, all others are at the State Assemblies.

After completion of casting of votes, the ballot boxes will be taken by the observers to New Delhi by flight.

The ballot papers will be counted on July 20. The winner will succeed the incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee, who demits office on July 25.

You might also like