• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Tag: Surendra Kumar

Bureaucratic Reshuffle: Sushil Lohani Appointed CEO Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government on Thursday effected a minor reshuffle in bureaucracy and appointed Sushil Kumar Lohani as the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of the State. Lohani will replace Surendra Kumar who has been appointed as principal secretary of Water Resources department. The 1993-batch IAS officer, Kumar is currently posted as CEO & Ex-officio principal secretary […]

Patkura Polls: BJD Seeks Special Security Arrangement, BJP Hits Back 

Bhubaneswar: A delegation of the State ruling BJD today met the Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) and Director General of Police (DGP) and demanded special security arrangement for smooth conduct of the Patkura election to be held tomorrow. Led by party MLA Pramila Mallick, a women delegation of BJD met CEO Surendra Kumar and DGP RP Sharma […]

May 23: EC braces up for the big date in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: With Odisha having voted for both the Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha, the Election Commission has waived the mandatory 14 tables counting norm for the State. “There is a norm of EC to have only 14 counting tables in a counting centre. However, as the State is witnessing simultaneous polls we have requested to […]

May 23: No rush of poll results in Odisha, results to only trickle in!

Bhubaneswar: As the counting of votes in Odisha will clock a longer duration than its national counterparts, the Election Commission has geared up with all exigency arrangements at the counting halls in the State to conduct the process smoothly. For the first time, counting halls across the State to have ACs fitted with to beat […]

Re-polling in 34 booths of Odisha likely on May 19

Bhubaneswar: Taking cognizance of irregularities and incidents of violence at several booths during 3rd and 4th phase polls in the State, the Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha, Surendra Kumar today informed that re-polling will take place in 34 booths. Earlier, Kumar had requested Election Commission of India for re-polling in the concerned booths. Re-polling will […]

Cyclone Fani: 2 EVM strong rooms to be relocated

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission has taken adequate precautionary measures to avoid possible damages to polled Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) in view of the expected landfall of Cyclone Fani on Friday. Besides, the Collectors of all the districts which are expected to be affected by the cyclone have been directed to take measures to prevent entry of […]

EC ready for Odisha final phase polls; 'special focus' on Kendrapara: CEO

Bhubaneswar: All elaborate arrangements have been put in place for the smooth conduction of the final phase polls in Odisha to be held on Monday. A whopping around 72, 363 personnel were deployed in poll duty in 10, 792 booths spread across eight districts, six Lok Sabha (LS) constituencies and 41 Assembly Constituencies, where polling […]

Denied postal ballot to cast votes, polling officials stage dharna in Odisha

Kendrapara: A group of polling officials staged a dharna in front of an EVM distribution centre in Kendrapara today after being allegedly denied postal ballot papers to exercise their franchise in the fourth-phase elections in Odisha which is slated to be held on April 29. The agitators also threatened not to receive EVMs if their issue […]

Human glitches mar poll process in phase-2; CEO recommends repoll at 6 booths

Bhubaneswar: As human errors played havoc in around six booths in three Lok Sabha(LS) constituencies during the second phase polling in Odisha, the total voter turnout witnessed in the State till 5 PM was around 64 per cent. The polling percentage in 2014 in the same constituencies was around 72.5 per cent. The polling figures […]

Ready for first phase Odisha Elections 2019: CEO

Bhubaneswar: The preparations for the crucial first phase polling scheduled to be held in four Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly segments in Odisha on April 11 has reached final stages, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar on Tuesday. More than 60 lakh voters comprising 29, 72, 925 male and 30, 30,222 female voters will […]

Notification issued for second phase polling in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:  The office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha today issued notification for five Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 assembly constituencies, where polls are scheduled to be held on April 18. The five Lok Sabha constituencies going to poll in second phase are Bargarh, Bolangir, Sundargarh, Kandhamal and Aska. Polls will also be held […]

Mock poll drill using VVPAT machines in Odisha from Jan 7: CEO

Bhubaneswar: In a bid to allay apprehensions over Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines, a mock poll drill will be conducted across Odisha from January 7, informed chief electoral officer of the State, Surendra Kumar. Addressing a press conference regarding preparedness for the upcoming polls, Kumar stated that final version of the revised voters’ […]

Elections 2019: All-party meeting in Odisha ahead of electoral roll revision

Bhubaneswar: The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha, Surendra Kumar held a meeting with the representatives of different political parties of the State in Bhubaneswar today ahead of the electoral roll revision for the upcoming general elections. Finance Minister Sashi Bhusan Behera from BJD, Samir Mohanty and Pitambar Acharya from BJP and Congress vice president […]

Surendra Kumar new Electoral Officer of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll, Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat has appointed Surendra Kumar as the new Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha. An official notification was issued in this regard today. Kumar, a 1993 batch IAS officer, replaced DN Gupta as the CEO of Odisha. Currently Kumar is holding the position of […]