Tag: Odisha Elections 2019

Elections 2019: Govt officials suspended over lapses during voter awareness programme

Sundergarh: Issuing a stern warning to officials, Sundergarh Collector Surendra Meena on Saturday suspended two government officials for their alleged dereliction of duty. As per reports, Additional Block Education Officer (BEO), Bisra, Sarat Kumar Pati and Vedavyasa UP School Headmaster Bibekananda Das were suspended for allegedly showing laxity in work during Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) […]

  • Monday, 26 July 2021
BJP-BJD notice war heats up politics in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The political landscape in Odisha has suddenly turned into a warzone with Odisha police issuing notices to two BJP leaders in connection with the brutal murder of Chhatrapur councillor, soon after CBI served notices to two BJD leaders in connection with the chit fund scam on Tuesday. Such actions of the State police and […]

  • Thursday, 01 July 2021
Politics of Publicity: Parties up in arms over Odisha govt's massive publicity spending

Bhubaneswar: Opposition parties today lashed out at the Odisha government for allegedly splurging crores of rupees on publicity. While the BJP said that the declining popularity of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is forcing the party to spend such massive amount of public money to shore up ‘Brand Naveen’, Congress alleged that the fear of anti-incumbency […]

  • Thursday, 01 July 2021
Elections 2019: BJP eyes big gains in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Despite defeat in the recently-concluded assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is confident of winning big in Odisha during the upcoming general polls. BJP national president Amit Shah, while speaking during the ‘Republic Summit 2018’ in Mumbai said that the party will win more seats in the […]

  • Thursday, 01 July 2021
BJD will perform extremely well in upcoming LS, assembly polls: Patnaik

Bhubaneswar: BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik claimed Tuesday that the ruling party would perform “extremely well” in the upcoming Lok Sabha and assembly elections. “I am sure that the Biju Janata Dal will do extremely well in the forthcoming elections,” Patnaik told reporters at the state secretariat here. His statement came two […]

  • Tuesday, 29 June 2021
Elections 2019: Flock of chit fund scam-tainted leaders posing challenge for BJD

Bhubaneswar: With the general elections nearing, political parties are gearing up to select candidates. The ruling-BJD, which has been at the helm of affairs for the last nineteen years, is reportedly facing worries over candidate selection due to involvement of several of its party leaders in the multi-crore chit fund scam. At a time when […]

  • Friday, 18 June 2021
Krushna Sagaria's chances to fight elections 2019
Does Sagaria’s chances to contest Elections 2019 hang in balance?

Bhubaneswar: Already in a damage-control mode with the desertion of senior leader Naba Kishore Das and ouster of Jogesh Singh prior to the general elections, Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik today hinted at doubts over the party giving a ticket to former Koraput MLA Krishna Chandra Sagaria. The PCC chief informed that a discussion was […]

  • Friday, 04 June 2021
Elections 2019
Elections 2019: Can the old guards take BJD by its horns in Odisha?

Bhubaneswar: Amid the clash between the BJD, BJP and the Congress in Odisha, it seems the ruling government might also have to deal with a Fourth Front in the upcoming general elections. While the political pundits have been repeatedly speaking of the Congress decreasing in power and BJP having a secret alliance with the BJD, […]

  • Friday, 04 June 2021
Is BJP repeating Congress' mistakes in Odisha?

Bhubaneswar: The debate and dilemma between no contest and an open contest somehow seems to have lost ground since the moment Prime Minister Narendra Modi, while addressing a huge gathering in Baripada on January 5, launched scathing attacks on the Congress but was calculative in speaking anything against the ruling-BJD. While Congress, right from the […]

  • Friday, 04 June 2021
BJP Odisha elections 2019
Eyeing coastal belt, BJP all set to launch high-voltage Parivartan Rath Yatras

Bhubaneswar: Preparing the pitch for a high-voltage campaign ahead of the 2019 general elections, the State Bharatiya Janata Party is geared up to welcome Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 24 for the Janasambad Mahasamabesh, in what could boost the party’s prospects in Odisha. Modi’s vision of ‘Purvodaya’- Development of North East including Odisha was […]

  • Friday, 04 June 2021
BJD-Padyatra Odisha political news
BJD's Padyatra spills out infighting beans more than unity

Bhubaneswar: With 2019 elections just a few months away, it seems the ruling-BJD is into trouble with the growing infighting over tickets between aspirants and the present MLAs. This was evident when local leaders were objected to and group clashes erupted in differents blocks during the BJD padyatras that stretched from Puri to Mayurbhanj district. […]

  • Friday, 04 June 2021
Rahul Gandhi's 2nd visit to Odisha in 12 days puts BJP & BJD on toes

Bhubaneswar: After the unexpected firing of salvo by Rahul Gandhi at Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his maiden visit to Odisha on January 25 after becoming AICC president, speculation of another attack by the young Congress chief during his February 6 visit to the State is rife. Tomorrow will be […]

  • Tuesday, 04 May 2021
Odisha Elections 2019: BJP promises land 'pattas' after Congress' guarantee card

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Odisha sounded the poll bugle in earnest today by promising a slew of welfare measures for the people of Odisha during party’s ‘Pratisruti Samabesh’ held in Bhubaneswar. Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan announced that the party will provide permanent land records (pattas), jobs to youths […]

  • Tuesday, 04 May 2021
Elections 2019: BJP, Congress attempt to corner BJD with ‘Jan Adalat’ &‘Jan Ashirwad Yatra’

Bhubaneswar: In the run up to the polls, the major Opposition parties in Odisha including the BJP and the Congress are pulling out all stops to woo the voters and at the same time, corner the ruling-Biju Janata Dal (BJD). After the recent ‘Pratisruti Samabesh’, the BJP today launched a ‘Jana Adalat’ (public court) campaign […]

  • Tuesday, 04 May 2021
Odisha Elections 2019: Jostle ensues among ticket aspirants in BJD

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the forthcoming polls, ticket aspirants in BJD have begun lobbying on the third floor of the Secretariat which is considered as the power centre of the State. A throng of sitting BJD legislators, former legislators and new aspirants was seen at the State Secretariat today. Though poll dates have not been announced […]

  • Tuesday, 04 May 2021