Tag: Odisha Election

Odisha Panchayat Poll: Expenditure Limit Of Candidates, Polling Time Increased By SEC 
Odisha Panchayat Poll: Expenditure Limit Of Candidates, Polling Time Increased By SEC 

A candidate contesting for Zilla Parishad member post can now spend up to Rs 5 lakh while the expenditure ceiling for panchayat samiti member and sarpanch has been hiked to Rs 2 lakh. 

  • Monday, 15 November 2021
Rita Sahu takes oath as MLA from Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Rita Sahu on Tuesday took oath as MLA from Bijepur Assembly Constituency today after a thumping victory in the by-election. Rita, who won the Bijepur bypoll on February 28 by defeating her nearest BJP contender Ashok Panigrahi by 41,933 votes, was administered oath of office and secrecy by Odisha Assembly […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Odisha BJP demands re-polling in 9 'rigged' booths of Athagarh

Bhubaneswar: Alleging rigging, the Odisha unit of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday demanded re-polling in nine booths of Atagarh Assembly constituency. A delegation of the saffron party led by Cuttack Lok Sabha candidate and former Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra and party’s state Vice-President Samir Mohanty met the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha and […]

  • Saturday, 01 May 2021
Odisha Congress chief, son richest candidates in fray in 4th phase polls

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik and his son Nabajyoti Patnaik are the richest among the candidates in fray in constituencies going to polls in the fourth and final phase elections in Odisha. According to the data published by the Odisha Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), Nabajyoti is the wealthiest among […]

  • Saturday, 01 May 2021
Denied postal ballot to cast votes, polling officials stage dharna in Odisha

Kendrapara: A group of polling officials staged a dharna in front of an EVM distribution centre in Kendrapara today after being allegedly denied postal ballot papers to exercise their franchise in the fourth-phase elections in Odisha which is slated to be held on April 29. The agitators also threatened not to receive EVMs if their issue […]

  • Saturday, 01 May 2021
Naveen 2nd richest MLA candidate in Odisha; BJD richest party with more crorepatis: ADR

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is the second most richest candidate in the State. Patnaik followed Congress candidate Bobby Mohanty who topped the richest chart. Patnaik who is contesting from two assembly constituencies – Hinjli and Bijepur – has declared assets worth Rs 63 crore. And with a declared assets worth Rs 106 crore […]

  • Saturday, 01 May 2021
Patkura Polls: BJD Seeks Special Security Arrangement, BJP Hits Back 

Bhubaneswar: A delegation of the State ruling BJD today met the Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) and Director General of Police (DGP) and demanded special security arrangement for smooth conduct of the Patkura election to be held tomorrow. Led by party MLA Pramila Mallick, a women delegation of BJD met CEO Surendra Kumar and DGP RP Sharma […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Patkura verdict - Was it a bittersweet victory for BJD?

Bhubaneswar: Despite defeating his friend-turned-foe Bijay Mohapatra in the Patkura Assembly election yesterday, the BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik held a brainstorming session today with all the party leaders in-charge of the poll to eke out the reasons behind the decline in vote share of the party. BJD candidate Sabitri Agarwalla won […]

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Sushil Kumar Lohani Is New Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll on October 21, the Election Commission of Indian (ECI) has approved appointment of 1995-batch IAS officer Sushil Kumar Lohani as the next Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha. Lohani’s name was finally approved by the ECI from the three-member list of IAS officers whose names were recommended by the State Government […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Column: The Age Debate Goes On

By Ashutosh Mishra Bhubaneswar: Should there be an age limit for contesting elections? This question has been asked innumerable times in the past. In fact, it comes up every time a 70 plus or so politician decides to contest an election. This question has also been posed to politicians in our state. Asked about it […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Pipili Bypoll Naveen--Aparajita
Pipili Bypoll: BJP Confident To Kick Off Paribartan Wave While Naveen Assures More Development

Puri: With just few days left for the bypoll to the Pipili Assembly seat, high-profile campaigning raised the poll heat in the constituency today. The Opposition BJP exuded confidence in…

  • Monday, 12 April 2021
Balasore By-election: Outrage Amidst Postal Ballot Voting Process

Balasore: Palpable tension prevailed at Channua village under the poll-bound Balasore Sadar Assembly constituency here on Monday as members of BJP detained a polling team alleging that the presiding officer in charge was showing favouritism and urging voters to cast their votes for a particular party. Ahead of the by-election to the Assembly seat on […]

  • Saturday, 10 April 2021
CM Naveen Should Apologise: Odisha BJP In-Charge D Purandeswari

Bhubaneswar: Odisha BJP in-charge D Purandeswari on Tuesday fired on all cylinders stating that Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik should issue an apology for cheating people of the State over various issues. Launching an all-out attack, Purandeswari said Naveen should apologise before the public of Odisha as he has remained absent from the State Assembly proceedings […]

  • Saturday, 03 April 2021
Pipili By-election
Pipili Bypoll Gazette Notification Out, Check Details

Bhubaneswar: The State Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha on Tuesday published the gazette notification for the upcoming by-election to the Assembly constituency of Pipili. The bypoll to the 110 – Pipili Assembly seat which has been lying vacant since October 4 2020 following the demise of 7-time MLA Pradeep Maharathy will go to polls on […]

  • Friday, 02 April 2021