• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Subadh Kumar Nayak

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll on October 21, the Election Commission of Indian (ECI) has approved appointment of 1995-batch IAS officer Sushil Kumar Lohani as the next Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha.

Lohani's name was finally approved by the ECI from the three-member list of IAS officers whose names were recommended by the State Government for the post of CEO.

ECI Secretary, BC Patra informed about the development to the State chief secretary Asit Kumar Tripathy asking him to ensure that Lohani takes charge as CEO of Odisha immediately.

Lohani, who is currently serving as Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Excise Department of the State government, would replace Surendra Kumar as the CEO. 1993-batch IAS officer, Surendra Kumar was appointed as the CEO of the State in February, 2018.

Other Stories