Tag: Bypoll

Tej Pratap Yadav
JDU Wins Kusheshwar Asthan, Tej Pratap Blames Senior Leaders For Defeat

Tej Pratap Yadav, the elder son of Lalu Prasad, blamed senior party leaders including RJD state president Jagadanad Singh, RJD vice president Shivanand Tiwari, senior RJD leader Sunil Singh and others for the defeat.

  • Tuesday, 02 November 2021
Voting For Bypoll In Assam, West Bengal, Meghalaya & Mizoram Begins
Voting For Bypoll In Assam, West Bengal, Meghalaya & Mizoram Begins

In Assam, nearly eight lakh voters, including 3,93,078 women would decide the fate of 31 candidates in Mariani, Thowra, Bhabanipur, Gossaigaon and Tamulpur Assembly seats, poll officials added.

  • Saturday, 30 October 2021
What worked for BJD in Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: While BJP got its calculations wrong, Congress was seen nowhere in the race as BJD clinched a landslide victory in Bijepur by-election, leaving Naveen Patnaik’s undefeated record intact. It can now be safely said that that luring former MLA Subal Sahu’s widow Rita Sahu to the party and later fielding her as the party […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Security beefed up in Bijepur for by-election

Bargarh: Security has been beefed up in the bypoll-bound Bijepur after high-voltage campaigning by political parties ended on Thursday. Five platoons of CRPF and BSF have been deployed in the Assembly constituency for smooth conduct of the election on February 24. Speaking at a presser today, Bargarh district collector Yamini Sarangi said as many as […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Star-studded campaigning by BJD, BJP

Bargarh: It was a show of strength between BJP and BJD as the major political parties roped in star campaigners to woo voters ahead of the bypoll for the Bijepur Assembly constituency. For BJP, it was Union Minister Smriti Irani and Dharmendra Pradhan who addressed a public meeting at Gaisilat while BJD Supremo Naveen Patnaik […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur to witness high-voltage campaign on Feb 20

Bargarh: Get ready to witness a high-voltage campaign for the Bijepur bypoll as star campaigners of two major rival parties—BJP and BJD will hit the campaign trail on Wednesday. BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is scheduled to undertake a whirlwind tour of the district to campaign for party candidate Rita Sahu. Patnaik will […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJP levels code violation charges against BJD

Bhubaneswar: Demanding stern action, the State unit of BJP today moved the State Election Commission with charges of violation of model code of conduct against ruling party legislator Arun Sahoo while he was campaigning for the bypoll to the Bijepur Assembly constituency. The BJP stated Sahoo lured voters with cheap rice and old age pension […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: CM Naveen among 40 star campaigners of BJD

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today released a list of star campaigners for the upcoming by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency scheduled to be held on February 24. The list includes names of 40 prominent leaders including party chief Naveen Patnaik who is scheduled to campaign in February 19 & 21. According to sources, […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Congress to announce candidate by Feb 1

Bargarh: With the notification for by-election to Bijepur Assembly constituency coming out today, the Congress party has geared up to select its candidate with the team of observers visiting the constituency and holding discussions with party workers. Former chief minister Hemananda Biswal said the party candidate will be announced in a day or two. “The […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Congress forms panel to select candidate

Bhubaneswar: The Congress party today constituted a six-member committee to select a candidate for the Bijepur Assembly Constituency which will go to bypoll on February 24. Party president Rahul Gandhi has approved a panel to recommend a suitable candidate for the by-election to Bijepur assembly segment, a release issued by AICC said. Former Chief Minister […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJD candidate victorious in Balasore ZP bypoll

Balasore/Kendrapara: BJD supporters and activists celebrated after party candidate Kamal Sahu emerged victorious in the bypoll for Zilla Parishad (ZP) zone-26 in Balasore district. Sahu defeated BJP candidate Parshuram Parida by 4,117 votes. While Sahu got 13,499 votes, a total of 9,382 votes were cast in favour of Parida. Polling official Bhabatarana Sahoo declared, “Among […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bypolls held for Samiti Member & ZP in Kendrapara, Balasore

Kendrapara/Balasore: Bypolls were held for the posts of Samiti Member in Penthapala and Badambila panchayats of Kendrapara and member of zilla parishad in zone 26 in Balasore. As many as 6,000 voters cast their vote during the bypoll for the Penthapala panchayat samiti seat, reserved for woman candidate. While Marua Malik and Pramila Malik claim […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Shots fired at BJP activist’s house in Bijepur

Bijepur: Gunshots were allegedly fired at a BJP activist’s residence in Pada village of Bijepur block in Bargarh district this evening. Sources said three masked men arrived close to the BJP activist’s house and fired three gunshots at it. Though the exact reason behind the firing could not be ascertained, the local police has reached […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
CM announces sop for by-poll ready Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: With a few days left for the by-election to Bijepur assembly constituency, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced a mega irrigation system for the region, named as Gangadhar Meher Lift Canal System, to appease the farming community. The project, which will pump water from Bargarh main canal through underground pipeline, will be set up […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
BJP's Bargarh district prez says no dissent within party

Bhubaneswar: BJP’s Bargarh district president Narayan Sahu on Tuesday stated he has no differences with the State party leadership and expressed his full support to the party’s decision on candidature for Bijepur bypoll. After a meeting at BJP legislature party leader KV Singhdeo’s residence here, Sahu said there is no disagreement within the party. “I […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021