• otv
Odishatv Bureau

Balasore/Kendrapara: BJD supporters and activists celebrated after party candidate Kamal Sahu emerged victorious in the bypoll for Zilla Parishad (ZP) zone-26 in Balasore district.

Sahu defeated BJP candidate Parshuram Parida by 4,117 votes. While Sahu got 13,499 votes, a total of 9,382 votes were cast in favour of Parida.

Polling official Bhabatarana Sahoo declared, “Among five candidates, who were in the poll fray, Kamal Sahu has secured the maximum number of votes and has won the election.”

During the last poll for the ZP zone-26, BJP candidate Binay Das had won by 3,385 votes. Binay’s death necessitated the bypoll.

Similarly, BJD-supported candidate Babita Malika won the bypoll for the post of samiti member in Penthapal under Pattamundai block of Kendrapara district. She defeated Congress candidate Marua Malika by 741 votes. Babita secured 1,461 votes whereas Marua got 719 votes.

Babita Tarai, wife of Kendrapara MLA Kishore Tarai, had resigned from Penthapala panchayat samiti post following which the seat was lying vacant.

Other Stories