Team India returns home

New Delhi: After a disastrous Australian tour the vanquished Indian cricket team, barring a couple of players, returned home today.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Praveen Kumar and Rahul Sharma arrived here at IGI airport early this morning from Brisbane via Singapore.

While Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan and Umesh Yadav arrived at Mumbai`s Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin landed at Chennai yesterday.

As soon as Sri Lanka pipped Australia at the post in Melbourne on Friday night, the reservation plans were put afoot and the players lost little time in leaving for home.

Irfan Pathan and Parthiv Patel, with bases in Gujarat, will leave for home today.

The Indians were not exactly glued in front of their TV screens yesterday to watch the outcome of the Australia-Sri Lanka match which the latter won by nine runs in the final over.