Odisha’s Nataraj Behera to lead East Zone in Duleep Trophy

Ranchi: Odisha’s Nataraj Behera will lead a 15-member East Zone squad against South Zone in the Duleep Trophy tie at Visakhapatanam beginning on October 14.

Jharkhand’s SP Goutam has been selected for the team’s wicket-keeper, according to sources with the Jharkhand State Cricket Association.

Opening batsman M Bardhan, middle order batsmen Saurav Tiwari and Ishank Jaggi and leggie S Quadri are the other players from Jharkhand to find berths in the team.

Bengal’s Manoj Tiwari was not available for selection as he would be busy with the Champions League, the sources said.

The Team:

Nataraj Behera (Capt), Basant Mohanty (pacer), Biplab Samantray (alrounder), Alok Mangaraj (pacer- all four from Odisha), S P Goutam (WK), Saurav Tiwari, M Bardhan, S Quadri, Ishank Jaggi (all five from Jharkhand), Dhiraj Yadav (Opener-Assam), Gokul Sharma (all rounder-both from Assam) A Mazumdar (middle order), I Saxena (pacer), Ashok Dinda (pacer- all three from Bengal), Gokul Sharma (all rounder-Assam) and Mura Singh (alrounder- Tripura)

Assam’s S Saikia is the coach of the team.