Odisha Elections 2019: A Look at Heavyweights of 2nd Phase Polls

Bhubaneswar: With the stage set for the battle of ballots in the constituencies going to polls in the 2nd phase in Odisha tomorrow, all eyes are now on the heavyweight candidates whose fates will be sealed in a few hours time.

The voters will choose their representatives for five Lok Sabha constituencies Aska, Kandhamal, Sundergarh, Bargarh and Bolangir and 35 Assembly constituencies in the second phase tomorrow.

Here are some of the heavyweight candidates in fray in Phase 2 elections in Odisha:

Lok Sabha Constituencies

Suresh Pujari (BJP), Prasanna Acharya (BJD) and Pradeep Debta (Congress) will be fighting for the Bargarh Lok Sabha seat. Similarly, Union Minister Jual Oram will once again contest from Sundergarh LS seat. While the BJD has fielded Sunita Biswal against Oram, Congress has pitted George Tirkey.

Bolangir LS seat will witness a ‘Royal’ fight with BJP’s Sangeeta Singh Deo once again taking on Kalikesh Singh Deo. A new face in fray is Samrendra Mishra, Congress candidate and son of senior leader Narasingh Mishra.

All eyes will also be on the clash of titans for the Kandhamal LS seat where former MP and senior BJP leader Kharbela Swain will take on Rajya Sabha member and BJD candidate Achyuta Samanta.

Assembly Constituencies

In Assembly elections, three legislative party leaders’ fate will be sealed tomorrow- BJD’s Naveen Patnaik from Hinjili and Bijepur, BJP’s KV Singh Deo from Patnagarh and Congress’ Narasingha Mishra from Bolangir Assembly constituency.

Among others, Pradeep Purohit, Bijay Singh Bariha and Satya Bhusan Sahu in Padampur seat, Snehangini Chhuria and Nihar Mahananda in Attabira, Susant Singh in Bhatli, Radha Rani Panda and Kishore Mohanty in Brajrajnagar, Naba Das in Jharsuguda, Jogesh Singh and Kusum Tete in Sundergarh will battle it out tomorrow.