EC directs re-poll in two booths in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In an unexpected turnout of events, the Election Commission on Tuesday directed re-poll in two polling stations of Odisha following reports of glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) during the first phase of polling on April 11.

The two polling stations where fresh elections will be conducted are –MPV -65 of Malkangiri (ST) Assembly Constituency under Nabarangpur Parliamentary Constituency and City High School-2 polling station of Berhampur Assembly Constituency.

The fresh polls for Malkangiri will be held at MPV-65 booth from 7 am to 4 pm while the re-polling for Berhampur will be held at City High School-2 booth from 7 am to 6 pm, official sources said.

According to reports received from the returning officers, an EVM fell on the floor in the Malkangiri booth during last-minute voting, while a defect was detected in a machine in Berhampur.

In a letter to Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha Surendra Kumar, the EC stated that re-poll will be taken in those two polling stations on April 18.