Disgruntled BJP workers pose headache for party

Jajpur/Malkangiri: Discontent has surfaced among the BJP leaders in Barachana of Jajpur and Chitrakonda in Malkangiri over the party’s nomination of candidates for the upcoming polls.

State BJP Secretary Simantini Jena expressed her dissatisfaction after her name was not mentioned in the list of candidates announced for 99 Assembly constituencies for the upcoming general elections to the Legislative Assembly of Odisha. The party has fielded Amar Nayak to contest from Barachana constituency.

“Personally I am deeply hurt by the party’s ticket distribution decision. I will not leave Barachana constituency,” said Jena.

Jena have been an active member of the saffron party since 1995 and was fielded as the BJP candidate for Barachana Lok Sabha seat in 2014 election; however she lost the election to BJD MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy.

Similar resentment has been brewing in Chitrakonda unit of BJP after former BJP MLA and deputy speaker in Odisha assembly was denied ticket to contest for Lok Sabha seat from Chitrakonda constituency.

Expressing displeasure over party’s decision to nominate Padu Majhi to contest for Chitrakonda assembly seat, Dora alleged that Majhi is not eligible to contest from Chitrakonda as he doesn’t belong to Scheduled Tribes (ST) caste.

“It is a conspiracy against the residents of Chitrakonda constituency. People are objecting the party’s decision; I will stage peaceful and non-violence demonstration,” said Dora.

It may be noted that Dora was elected as the BJP MLA from Chitrakonda constituency in 2004.

On the other hand, responding to the allegations Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan said, “BJP is worker-driven and respects democracy. Decision on a candidate is taken after discussion at Central Election Committee (CEC) and displeasure is natural when there are multiple capable aspirants.”