43 Odisha cops decorated with Police Medals on Republic Day

Bhubaneswar: As many as 43 personnel of Odisha Police were felicitated with the prestigious police medals by Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal during a special function at Jaydev Bhawan in Bhubaneswar on Republic Day today.

Of them, 11 cops received Police Medal for Gallantry for anti-Maoist operations in Raiguda Forest of Koraput district in 2017 and for foiling a Naxal attack in Kalahandi district in 2016. Besides, four police officers were bestowed with President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service. Similarly, 14 personnel received Police Medal for Meritorious Service while 14 others were honoured with the Governor’s Police Medal at the function.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was also present at the award distribution event.

Arun Bothra, the current IG of Crime Branch, who received the Governor’s Medal for Distinguished Service said “I feel really happy for the felicitation from the Governor. I came to Odisha in 1999 and had received a lot of love and respect from the people and the government in the last 20 years of my service.”