Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

India will take on formidable Australia in the World Test Championship (WTC) Final at the Oval Stadium in London from June 7 to 11. BCCI has already announced a 15-member squad for the all-important clash.

As per reports, five standby players have also been selected for the marquee clash. They are batters Sarfaraz Khan and Ruturaj Gaikwad, wicket-keeper batsman Ishan Kishan, and the pace duo of Mukesh Kumar and Navdeep Saini.

Earlier, swashbuckling batsman Suryakumar Yadav was excluded from the 15-member squad. Now, his snub as a standby player has become the talk of the town.

Surya’s exclusion from the squad didn’t go down well with many former greats. Former Team India players like Harbhajan Singh and Aakash Chopra have now another reason to take a dig at the BCCI.

Though World No. 1 T20I batter Suryakumar has been backed to excel in the red-ball format of the game by many former greats like Sachin Tendulkar and Sunil Gavaskar, his dip in form in the last couple of months has not helped his cause. Players like Gaikwad and Sarfaraz are picked ahead of Suryakumar as standby players.

As per reports, India will play a multi-day warm-up match leading into the WTC Final.