Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Team India captain Rohit Sharma has accomplished a feat on the third day of the ongoing fourth Test between India and Australia in Ahmedabad on Saturday.

During his knock, Rohit reached the 17,000-run mark in international cricket. He has become the sixth Indian cricketer to achieve the feat. In the process, he joined the elite company of great Indian cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni. All these cricketers have achieved the milestone.

Rohit accomplished the remarkable milestone in 438 international matches, comprising of 49 Tests, 241 ODIs, and 148 T20Is. 

However, Rohit could manage only 38 of 58 deliveries in India’s first innings. Despite having a strong start, he failed to convert it into a substantial score.

Rohit started the series brilliantly with an impressive score of 120 in the first innings of the Nagpur Test on a difficult pitch. However, he has failed to impress in the next two Tests, with a string of low scores -- 32, 31, 12, and 12 in the subsequent four innings.

Indian batters who have scored 17,000+ runs in international cricket:

Sachin Tendulkar - 34,357

Virat Kohli* - 25,047

Rahul Dravid - 24,064

Sourav Ganguly - 18,433

MS Dhoni - 17,092

Rohit Sharma* - 17,014