Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

With less than 50 days left for the start of the high-octane FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela, Hockey India announced a Trophy Tour on Friday.

During the tour, the prestigious World Cup trophy will be taken across various parts of the country. The tour will officially kick off from December 5 with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik handing over the trophy to Hockey India President Dilip Tirkey in Bhubaneswar.

The prestigious trophy will travel across 12 states and one Union territory, before returning to Bhubaneswar. The 21-day tour will see the trophy move across West Bengal, Manipur, Assam, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana New Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Karnataka, before finally returning to Odisha on December 25, 2022. Then the trophy will go on a tour across Odisha.

Addressing the Trophy Tour, Tirkey said, “The idea behind the initiative is to give the hockey fans across the country an opportunity to get a glimpse of the prestigious trophy that all the teams will be competing for,”
“The Indian fans have always been passionate about hockey and will be eager to cheer for their home team in the upcoming tournament. We believe the tour will give the fans a chance to stay connected with the sport and send their best wishes to the Indian team before they begin the campaign,” he added.

The FIH Odisha Hockey Men's World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela will begin from January 13. Australia, Belgium, Netherlands, India, Argentina, Germany, New Zealand, England, France, Korea, Malaysia, Spain, South Africa, Japan, Chile, and Wales are the 16 teams, who will be competing in the tournament.