Ready to resign again: TDP MLAs from Telangana

Hyderabad: Taking exception to Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker N. Manohar rejecting en masse resignations of MLAs from Telangana, TDP legislators from the region on Sunday said they are ready to put in their papers again.

“The Speaker has rejected our resignations under the influence of the Centre. We condemn this rejection of resignations. We will continue our fight till Telangana is achieved,” senior TDP MLA from Telangana M Narasimhulu told PTI in Hyderabad.

The TDP legislators are ready to submit their resignations again and all Telangana MLAs who had quit, numbering 100, should be united and stay away from contesting the elections till a separate state is achieved, he said.

The party is contemplating taking legal recourse against the Speaker’s decision as the resignations were rejected without consulting anyone, he said.

Meanwhile, suspended TDP MLA Nagam Janardhan Reddy and three rebel MLAs of the party — K. Harishwar Reddy, S. Venugopalachary and Jogu Ramanna — have sent their resignations again.

Slamming the Speaker’s decision, Mr. Janardhan Reddy wondered how he can reject the resignations unilaterally.

Mr. Janardhan Reddy and others met the Speaker and also the Governor for getting their resignations accepted.

He said the MLAs are also exploring the possibility of approaching the courts against the Speaker’s decision.

Putting an end to the 20-day political drama, Speaker on Saturday night rejected the resignation of 100 Telangana MLAs, cutting across party lines, saying they were submitted in “a fit of emotion.”