Cassian Baliarsingh

In a bid to appease its dissatisfied leaders before the 2024 General Elections, the ruling BJD has strategically handed over ‘Nigam Lollipop’.

Over three dozen of them have been given various posts as Chairpersons, Advisors and Vice-Chairman to different Boards, Councils and Departments. At least 36 leaders were appointed on the orders of BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik.

As promised during 2019 election, Dr. Ramesh Chandra Chyau Patnaik has been appointed Member of State Planning (in the rank of Cabinet Minister). Similarly, veteran leader Prasanna Patsani has also been appointed Member, State Planning (in the rank of Cabinet Minister).

On the other hand, Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, has been appointed Chairperson of Odisha State Housing Board. Moreover, Dr. Pradip Majhi is appointed as Advisor, Special Development Council and Pabitra Panigrahi as Chairperson, Ganjam Regional Improvement Trust.

Due to turmoil inside the party in Ganjam district, Naveen has cleverly appointed senior leaders Ramesh Chanda Chyau Pattnaik, Subash Moharana, Rama Chandra Panda, Raghunath Naidu, Tumbanath Panda and Pabitra Panigrahi to various departments to appease them.
When contacted Prasanna Patsani said, “I’m eager to do anything that is bestowed upon me by the supremacy. Even when I wasn’t given any post, I had no issues.”

Similarly, Kalikesh said, “I will try to do justice to the post, that I have been appointed to. I’m still unaware of the reason of the sudden appointments. But, as the party has given me a duty, I will do it with utmost truth.”

If reports are to be believed, the sudden appointments were made to appease the resented leaders, to encourage workers before Dhamanagar bypoll. By this appointments, the leaders won’t be dissatisfied even if they will not be even a ticket during the 2024 Assembly Elections.

Speaking on the appointments, Lenin Mohanty, who was Chairperson, Odisha Tourism Development Corporation (OTDC) said, “A very special thing about CM Naveen Patnaik is that he knows the right man for the right place. Now, everyone is happy with the posts and will work properly for the party.”

On the other hand, many senior leaders like Sanjay Das Burma, Amarendra Das, Priyadarshi Mishra, Asit Pattnaik and Janmejaya Lenka have not been given any appointments. 


(Reporters: Sibanand Rout, Harihar Chand, OTV)