Cassian Baliarsingh

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) has selected as many as eight students from Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT), Burla, in Sambalpur district to participate in the Student CanSat Launch Competition 2024.

As per a report in TOI, the Student CanSat Launch Competition 2024 will be organised by ISRO in Gujarat’s Ahmedabad on April 16 and 17. In the CanSat competition, students are invited to design and build space-type systems, especially small satellites. The satellites should be made to fit inside a small structure measuring 66mm in diameter and 15mm in height.

Among the eight students who are making Odisha and VSSUT proud are Swagat Sekhar Panda, Debankar Subhram, Pallabi Parimita Nayak, Inayatulla Khan, Subhankar Nayak, Faizur Rahman, Ayushman Jena and Subhranshu Ranjan Das.

The students from the ‘Young Tinker Space’ club of VSSUT have been designing and manufacturing satellites with each member contributing their expertise in the project. The Young Tinker Space is a student club that is grooming students to take part in such competitions.

Earlier, the teams had gone to NASA’s Rover Challenge in the USA in 2021 and 2023.

“For the competition, we have crafted a can-sized satellite, which is equipped with cutting edge capabilities to monitor altitude, air pressure, temperature, velocity, orientation and visual descent,” TOI quoted Subhranshu Ranjan Das, the project manager in the team.

Also Read | ISRO Chief Somnath Diagnosed With Cancer On The Day Of Aditya-L1 Launch

Similarly, speaking to TOI, VSSUT vice-chancellor Banshidhar Majhi said, “Despite setbacks and failures, the students have persevered, refined their designs and overcome obstacles. It is a matter of pride that our students will be representing the entire state at such a prestigious platform.”