Vikash Sharma

In a bid to promote tourism in Odisha, the Government of India has initiated action for the development of lighthouses in the State on Public-Private Partnership (PPP) mode.

In a written reply in Rajya Sabha on Tuesday, Union Minister for Ports, Shipping and Waterways, Sarbananda Sonowal, said the five lighthouses located at 4 districts of Odisha have been identified for development.

The list includes, Gopalpur lighthouse in Ganjam, Puri lighthouse, Chandrabhaga lighthouse ( Puri), Paradip lighthouse (Jagatsinghpur) and False Point lighthouse in Kendrapara district.

As per a PIB release, the project components for the above lighthouses have been finalized and necessary clearances from State Coastal Zone Management Authority for Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) clearance and other local bodies have been sought.

“Since the above projects are on PPP mode, no fund allocation is envisaged,” the release added.