We Report, You Decide

Three Cong MLAs quit over delay in formation of Telangana

Hyderabad: In a setback to the ruling Congress in Andhra Pradesh, three party MLAs from Telangana region today quit the party in protest against the delay in formation of separate state.

T Rajaiah from Station Ghanpur in Warangal district, Jupally Krishna Rao of Kollapur in Mahabubnagar district and Somarapu Satyanarayana from Ramagundam in Karimnagar district who resigned from the party are likely to walk over to Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) led by K Chandrasekhar Rao.

TRS is the most vocal among all votaries in favour of carving out the separate state from Andhra Pradesh. Satyanarayana, an Independent MLA, is an associate member of Congress in the Andhra Pradesh assembly.

The trio have already submitted resignations from their posts in support of the separate statehood demand. "The very purpose of resigning from Congress is to build up pressure on the Congress high command and also on the ministers and MLAs of Congress in Telangana region," Krishna Rao told reporters here.

He hit out at the state ministers from Telangana region for not quitting their posts to mount pressure on the Congress high command. Training his guns on Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, Krishna Rao alleged that Reddy was trying to suppress the separate statehood agitation by filing false police cases against Telangana supporters.

"Unless we build up pressure on the Telangana public representatives and also on high command, the high command will not (take) an early decision. At the same time, the way the chief minister is terrorising, it is insulting the Telangana people. For that reason, we are quitting Congress," he said. Krishna Rao claimed that several other Congress leaders are set to follow the suit.

You might also like

Comments are closed.