Shiv Sena to join Maharastra govt tomorrow

Mumbai: Ending its acrimonious split with BJP, Shiv Sena will join the Maharashtra government tomorrow with 12 of its nominees, including five of cabinet rank, set to be inducted into the ministry.

The coming together of the two saffron parties, which split before the Assembly elections and fought against each other, was announced by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis who held parleys with Shiv Sena leaders in the last few days.

“It is the desire of the people of Maharashtra that BJP and Shiv Sena should be part of the government,” he told reporters, addressing a joint press conference with senior Sena leaders.

The induction of BJP’s oldest saffron ally will give the government a clear majority of 184 in a House of 288. The BJP has 121 MLAs while the Shiv Sena 63. The NCP, which has 41 MLAs, had announced outside support to the state government, which was sworn in on October 31.

With Sena now set to join the government, Fadnavis can breathe easy during the winter session of legislature, beginning in Nagpur on December 8.

In an indication of BJP’s dominance, Fadnavis ruled out having a deputy chief minister in the ministry.

12 ministers from Sena, including five of cabinet rank will be inducted, the chief minister said. Around 8 to 10 BJP ministers will take oath tomorrow, he added.

The swearing in will take place at 4 PM at the Vidhan Bhawan premises.