• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Tag: Ls

Central Sanskrit Universities Bill 2019 Passed In LS

New Delhi: A Bill to convert three Sanskrit deemed universities into Central Sanskrit Universities was passed in the Lok Sabha on Thursday with a voice vote. In his concluding remark for the passage of the Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, 2019, Union Human Resource Development Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ said the purpose of the universities is […]

LS passes bill to scrap 58 archaic laws

New Delhi: Lok Sabha on Monday passed a bill to repeal 58 old laws which the government said are a source of inconvenience to people. Moving The Repealing and Amending Bill, 2019, Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said that after the BJP-led government came to power “we have repealed 1,428 old and archaic Acts”. “Today […]

Government introduces eight Bills in LS in one hour

New Delhi: The government on Monday introduced eight Bills in the Lok Sabha within an hour. Soon after Question Hour ended, Speaker Om Birla allowed the government to introduce the Bills that were listed for legislative business. The Bills include The DNA Technology (Use and Application) Regulation Bill, 2019; The Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Amendment Bill, […]

Key Constituencies in Phase 6 of Lok Sabha polls

New Delhi: As the campaigning for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections in 59 constituencies ended Friday evening, over 10.17 crore voters across seven states will decide the fate of 979 candidates by casting their votes on May 12. On Sunday, voting will take place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, eight […]

Over 200 farmers file nominations in Nizamabad LS seat

Hyderabad: Over 200 farmers have filed nominations in Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency in Telangana to protest the failure of the state and Central governments to ensure better remunerative process for their produce. Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) President K. Chandrashekhar Rao’s daughter K. Kavitha is seeking re-election from the seat. On the last […]

BJD writes to LS Speaker to accept Jay Panda’s resignation

Bhubaneswar: BJD Parliamentary Party leader in Lok Sabha, Bhartruhari Mahtab Monday shot a letter to the Lok Sabha Speaker to accept the resignation of Jay Panda as a MP. Mahtab wrote, “Baijayant Panda was elected to Kendrapara LS Constituency of Odisha in the 2014 general elections on the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) symbol and party […]

Parliament's winter session: LS adjourned till Monday, RS adjourned till 2.30 p.m

New Delhi: The winter session of parliament began on Friday after obituary references the Lok Sabha was adjourned for the day till Monday. Soon after the house met, newly elected member Sunil Jakhar took the oath of office. Jakhar is the son of former Speaker Balram Jakhar. He won the by-poll from the Gurdaspur Lok […]

gst bill
LS passes GST supplementary bills

New Delhi: The historic Goods and Services Tax (GST) regime today came a step closer to meet its July 1 target of rollout, with the Lok Sabha approving four supplementary legislations. The Central GST Bill, 2017; The Integrated GST Bill, 2017; The GST (Compensation to States) Bill, 2017; and The Union Territory GST Bill, 2017 were […]