Tag: Bijepur

CM Naveen to visit Bijepur on March 12

Bhubaneswar: After BJD’s thumping victory in the by-election, party president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will visit the Bijepur Assembly constituency on March 12. Informing media about the visit, Bijepur MLA Rita Sahu said that Naveen decided to visit the constituency to thank the people for their support. “The CM will also discuss about […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Newly-elected Rita Sahu meets CM Naveen

Bhubaneswar: After winning by a huge margin in the by-election to Bijepur assembly constituency, the newly-elected BJD MLA Rita Sahu today met Chief Minister & party president Naveen Patnaik at his residence in Bhubaneswar to seek blessings. She was accompanied by ministers Susanta Singh, Snehangini Chhuria and other senior party leaders along with hundreds of […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
What worked for BJD in Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: While BJP got its calculations wrong, Congress was seen nowhere in the race as BJD clinched a landslide victory in Bijepur by-election, leaving Naveen Patnaik’s undefeated record intact. It can now be safely said that that luring former MLA Subal Sahu’s widow Rita Sahu to the party and later fielding her as the party […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Srikant Jena
Vedanta money used in Bijepur bypoll: Congress’ Srikant Jena

Bhubaneswar: Senior Congress leader and former Union Minister Srikant Jena today alleged that money of Vedanta Company has been spent in the by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency. “When everyone’s attention was on Bijepur, government made a policy change to favour Anil Agrawal by ensuing Bauxite supply to Vedanta. Hundreds of crores have been spent […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll echoes in Puri as Narasingha Mishra takes up cash for votes issue

Puri: Raising the issue of cash-for-votes,  Congress leader and Leader of OpppostionNarasingha Mishra on Sunday said crores of rupees have been spent while each voter has been offered Rs 5,000 in Bijepur byelection. “We have got Rs 5000 per vote. How much you will offer? A voter asked me during campaigning in Bijepur. If one […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
CM condemns attack on Minister's brother, 3 arrested

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday strongly condemned the attack on Labour Minister Susanta Singh’s brother Subrat near Banabira under Sohela block of Bargarh district late on Thursday night. However, three persons have been arrested in connection with the incident. “There is no place for violence in democracy. The people of Odisha are […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Mudslinging between BJD, BJP continues over Bargarh cash seizure

Bhubaneswar: War of words between BJP and BJD is continuing unabated over the seizure of Rs 40.50 lakh in Bargarh with senior leaders of both the parties accusing each other of trying to lure voters with money power ahead of the bypoll to Bijepur Assembly constituency. “I dare Bargarh SP to hand over the case […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur to witness high-voltage campaign on Feb 20

Bargarh: Get ready to witness a high-voltage campaign for the Bijepur bypoll as star campaigners of two major rival parties—BJP and BJD will hit the campaign trail on Wednesday. BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is scheduled to undertake a whirlwind tour of the district to campaign for party candidate Rita Sahu. Patnaik will […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Rs 40.5 lakh cash seized while being transported to bypoll-bound Bijepur

Bargarh: Cash worth Rs 40.5 lakh were seized from a car near Mahulapali square in Bargarh district this evening. Sources suspect that the money was being moved for use in the upcoming Bijepur by-election. Padampur police seized the cash which were in bundles of Rs 2000 & Rs 500 denominations. The vehicle has also been […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Naveen's campaigning programme rescheduled

Bhubaneswar: BJD president Naveen Patnaik’s campaigning programme for the upcoming by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency has seen some minor changes. As per sources, Patnaik, who is a star campaigner of the ruling party, will campaign for party candidate Rita Sahu on February 20 and 21. He would hold road show and address a public […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Tension prevails in Bijepur as cops detain BJP campaign vehicles

Bijepur: Tension prevailed in Bijepur area last night when police detained a few vehicles of BJP workers near Jaringi while they were going for campaigning for the upcoming bypoll. Sources said Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and several BJP workers were going from Bijepur to Jaringi for campaigning in over 15 vehicles. Police allowed three vehicles, […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: BJP levels code violation charges against BJD

Bhubaneswar: Demanding stern action, the State unit of BJP today moved the State Election Commission with charges of violation of model code of conduct against ruling party legislator Arun Sahoo while he was campaigning for the bypoll to the Bijepur Assembly constituency. The BJP stated Sahoo lured voters with cheap rice and old age pension […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: CM Naveen among 40 star campaigners of BJD

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today released a list of star campaigners for the upcoming by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency scheduled to be held on February 24. The list includes names of 40 prominent leaders including party chief Naveen Patnaik who is scheduled to campaign in February 19 & 21. According to sources, […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Congress to announce candidate by Feb 1

Bargarh: With the notification for by-election to Bijepur Assembly constituency coming out today, the Congress party has geared up to select its candidate with the team of observers visiting the constituency and holding discussions with party workers. Former chief minister Hemananda Biswal said the party candidate will be announced in a day or two. “The […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021
Bijepur bypoll: Congress forms panel to select candidate

Bhubaneswar: The Congress party today constituted a six-member committee to select a candidate for the Bijepur Assembly Constituency which will go to bypoll on February 24. Party president Rahul Gandhi has approved a panel to recommend a suitable candidate for the by-election to Bijepur assembly segment, a release issued by AICC said. Former Chief Minister […]

  • Friday, 23 July 2021