Rishika scores easy win, Rutuja made to work hard

Pune: Rishika Sunkara scored an easy straight set win over her Arthi Muniyan while Pune’s Rutuja Bhosale had to rally from a set down to beat Vasanti Shinde to move into the second round of the Qualifying tournament for the NECC-ITF women’s USD 25,000 tennis tournament here today.

The 11th seeded Rishika won 6-1, 6-1, but now faces a tough task of competing against the top seeded Japanese Miki Miyamura, who was given a scare by Rashmi Teltumbde in the first round contest. Miki won 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 in the top half of the draw.

A win in the second round of the Qualifying tournament will earn them a spot in the main draw of the USD 25,000 tournament starting on Monday.

In the bottom half of the draw, 16th seeded Rutuja, who is currently studying on a tennis scholarship in the United States , lost the first set 3-6 against Vasanti. But Rutuja regrouped herself in time to take the next two 6-2, 6-3 to move ahead.

Rutuja now meets a tricky opponent in Oksana Kalashnikova of Georgia. The fifth seeded Oksana, who played an exhibition match against Leander Paes in the Premier Tennis League, defeated Arantxa Andrady 6-1, 6-3.

In other matches, Bhuvana Kalva won over Snehadevi S Reddy 2-6, 6-3, 6-3 and the 14th seeded Shweta Rana beat Aishwarya Agrawal 6-3, 7-5. Unseeded Diana Bogoliy of Ukraine shocked the 13th seed Nidhi Chilumula of India 6-3, 4-6, 6-0 and Sai Samhitha Chamarthi caused an upset by beating 10th seeded Kamonwan Buayam of Thailand 7-5, 6-3.

Results: Qualifying Round 1: Bhuvana Kalva (Ind) bt Snehadevi S Reddy (Ind) 2-6, 6-3, 6-3; Karman Kaur Thandi (Ind) bt 4-Daiana Negreanu (Rou) 6-4, 7-5; 11-Rishika Sunkara (Ind) bt Arthi Muniyan (Ind) 6-1, 6-1; 2-Silvia Njiric (Cro) bt Amrita Mukherjee (Ind) 3-6, 6-4, 6-4; 14-Shweta Rana (Ind) bt Aishwarya Agrawal (Ind) 6-3, 7-5; 5-Oksana Kalashnikova (Geo) bt Arantxa Andrady (Ind) 6-1, 6-3; 3-Ching-Wen Hsu (Tpe) bt Damini Sharma (Ind) 6-2, 6-0; 16-Rutuja Bhosale (Ind) bt Vasanti Shinde (Ind) 3-6, 6-2, 6-3; Cristina Ene (Rou) bt Varunya Chandrashekar (Ind) 6-0, 6-1; 7-Magdalena Frech (Pol) bt Pranjala Yadlapalli (Ind) 6-2, 6-1; 8-Barbara Bonic (Srb) bt Anushka Sathe (Ind) 6-0, 6-1; 9-Katarzyna Kawa (Pol) bt Aastha Dargude (Ind) 6-3, 6-0; Diana Bogoliy (Ukr) bt 13-Nidhi Chilumula (Ind) 6-3, 4-6, 6-0; Sai Samhitha Chamarthi (Ind) bt 10-Kamonwan Buayam (Tha) 7-5, 6-3;

1-Miki Miyamura (Jpn) bt Rashmi Teltumbde (Ind) 3-6, 6-3, 6-4; 6-Chloe Paquet (Fra) bt Simran Kaur Sethi (Ind) 6-1, 6-1.